Easy Eggless Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I had no eggs and my partner and i felt like something sweet. Tried this recipe out but also added some melted chocolate to the mixture.It was really easy to make, it came out moist and delish! Was really yum, so glad i found this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine Goodyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Makes the tiniest cake ever! I used 1/4 cup cocoa and 1/2 cup chopped semi-sweet chocolate chips. One layer fell apart. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Batter looks delicious but the cake didn't rise much. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out raw in the middle. Sampled cake anyway... nothing special. It was kind of a waste of ingredients. I should have just gone out to buy eggs and made something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izfo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Very good but not great. Substituted applesauce (regular) for oil and didn't make the frosting. I didn't enjoy the texture -- it was pretty gooey. Maybe it needed more than 30 minutes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Perfectly moist which is what i love about cakes with oil! And so easy too! Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
BEST CAKE EVER!!! I made this cake because I'm pregnant, in a baking phase and needed a chocolate cake fix! I'm out of eggs and found this recipe. The only alterations I made were the previously recommended extra 3 tbsp of cocoa, I also had no cake flour and used AP; and to my horror I was out of white vinegar. I decided to take the chance and use apple cider vinegar which made no difference (whoo! I was going to eat it anyway)! I also added a capful (about 1/2 tsp) of vanilla to the frosting for extra lil sweetness. After poured the frosting over a still very warm cake, it looked so good and I couldn’t wait any longer. I sliced a piece, and it was like eating the most decadent lava cake from the best restaurant!! I'm super surprised an egg-less cake turned out to be so wonderful; I was excited to try it out! I will most definitely recommend and use this recipe from now on, whether or not I have eggs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was excellent! I did not make the frosting, I used the regular Hershey's cocoa powder frosting. I also added an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder to the cake mix, making it 4 tbs. Me, my kids and my husband loved this cake! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is an amazing, amazing recipe. I am a vegetarian (no eggs) and was having a hard time getting cakes right. It was really hit-or-miss. But this cake! Oh, this cake! I suddenly rocketed to cake-making fame with this cake! I have made it so many times over the past six months, and every time it is fluffy and moist and earns rave reviews. People now beg me to make cakes for them. Notes: I leave out the cocoa if I want to make a chocolate-free cake, no problem. I make a different frosting because I am addicted to cream cheese frosting. And I have found that it rises more if I let it sit in the pan for a few minutes before I put it in the oven. Bottom line: This cake is fail-proof, and awesome, awesome, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I just didn't care for this cake. It was easy to make, and unlike some other reviewers I actually liked the texture. It was just really bland. I did like the icing though, and will use that recipe for other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I_Wanna_Bite!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was my first eggless cake recipe, inspired by a vegetarian/almost vegan home visitor who visited us in part to celebrate my brother's birthday. I used all purpose flour and baked it for 45-50 minutes until the knife finally came out clean from the middle and the sides of the cake had barely pulled away from the pan. I should have more thoroughly floured the sides as the cake broke but hey with all that good frosting, who cares! (I cooked the frosting in a normal small pan on low heat, removed it to cool a bit, and stretched it out with an extra tablespoon of butter and 3 tablespoons or so of water so it could drizzle over the cake.) We served it with pear slices and flavored seltzer water and it was great. Our nearly vegan friend was very pleased and so was my brother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States