Easy Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I just made this cake and it is absolutely delicious. I do not own a bundt pan so I used a 9x13 pan and baked it until done using the toothpick method. I also sprinkled sugar in the cake pan after spraying it with Pam. Came out perfectly. Will defintly be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I've made this recipe at least 10 times for my family, and they absolutely love me for it. It is by far the best and easiest dessert recipe in existence. I recently found a way to enjoy the same great taste in a lower calorie version of the recipe because some of my friends are health nutters and would not try any baked goods of mine unless they were sugar free and or fat free. I used the same yellow cake mix (but you could substitute a whole wheat/low carb version if available. Instead of 1 big box of instant chocolate pudding mix I bought two smaller sugar free/fat free boxes of the same instant chocolate pudding mix. I used 4 egg beaters servings (1 cup egg beaters) instead of eggs. I substituted 2/3 c unsweetened applesauce instead of using oil, and 2/3 cup splenda (not the splenda with sugar) instead of the additional sugar, and 1 8 oz container of fat free sour cream. I did not use chocolate chips because I could not find a sugar free version. I baked it for only 20 minutes (because it was going to burn after that for some reason) but keep checking by sticking a toothpick every few minutes to make sure its not burning. You definitely don't need the whole 55 minutes with this altered recipe. The grand total for caloric content was 220 calories per serving (1/12 of cake) as opposed to the whopping 500+ as noted in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sumehra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I don't know what went wrong, but my cake created a tunnel all the way around. I followed the recipe to the letter except vanilla instead of chocolate pudding, which shouldn't have made a difference. The oven was preheated to the right temperature, and I know it's accurate, because I bake all the time. If anyone has a suggestion I would sure like to hear it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Williams Evans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corsicana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I have been wanting to try this cake for a while, and now that I am munching a slice still warm...I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could! This is SO MUCH BETTER than your average box cake, I used dark chocolate cake mix and peanut butter chips, and it is outrageously good! One tip, have a good hand mixer, cause the batter can be pretty thick. Thank you for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Wow, what a terrific recipe for a bundt cake. You can use any flavor box cake mix for this recipe. I used cherry chip and lined the bundt pan with maraschino cherries. It came out moist and looked beautiful. Thanks for a great recipe that I will use over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Makes a very heavy, dense cake. Batter is very thick. No frosting is necessary - it's great as is! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
What a great cake! Super easy and VERY moist. Have made it twice within one week. First time I made it with vanilla pudding instead of chocolate. (it's what I had on hand) Very delicious! Second time I used banana pudding and white chocolate chips. Everyone devoured it! Also used fat free sour cream and still bakes wonderfully. Only problem I had was it tends to stick to the cake pan, so I make sure I spray the pan really well. Thank you for a tasty and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
moist, delicious, easy, maintains taste after being frozen....even taste good cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
5 stars for easy & 4 stars for taste.. Great for a 1st time baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Thanks for the recipe - I did a chocolate-mixed berry with chocolate raspberry-drizzle. Sent it to the station with my husband at 8am - he call at 10:30am to tell me it was 3/4 gone (I meant it as dessert, but I guess it works for breakfast,too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States