Easy Delicious Old Fashioned Coleslaw Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I added sugar to taste then it was 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is simply great. NOT the sweet stuff! I made a mistake and used angle hair (cut) cabbage. Way to loose. I am making it again today with a standard cut cabbage. I can't wait!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I used 1/2c ranch dressing for creamy salad dressing. My son who doesn't like mayo mixed in any food LOVED this cole slaw dressing. I will try using this dressing with eggs, tuna, and macaroni. All these foods that he never liked before. I feel hopeful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I added 1/4 cup sugar to it. To tart for the little ones and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is an excellent dressing. I had been in the habit of making a sweeter dressing for slaw, but wanted a different type. This is s good that I keep a jar of it and a bag of shredded cabbage handy in my frig so I can use it for a snack if I get hungry, and increase the fiber in my diet Since I love slaw, this works out well for me. Thank you for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I don't have creamy salad dressing on hand (aka Miracle Whip), I used Hellman's mayonnaise. This was exactly what I needed--it worked perfectly in my egg salad sandwich recipe. Next time, I'll play with the ingredients to make it more personal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Right after I mixed this up I tasted it and...I wasn't impressed. It seemed too tangy (even tho' I used white wine vinegar rather than distilled white) and one dimensional. I added 1/2 tsp. of Splenda to kind of mellow out the tang, put it in the fridge and hoped for the best. Once mixed with the ingredients from "Broccoli Slaw," by DEBOKC, also from this site, it had transformed into something wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Yum! I used 1/2 a cup of 2% milk and omitted the buttermilk, and Miracle Whip as the creamy salad dressing. I also added just a tiny little bit of ranch dressing. This was delicious with my broccoli slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Using the recommended amounts of buttermilk and milk, this dressing has far too much liquid -- which is fine for a slaw served as soon as it's dressed, but left to sit for a while (especially overnight), this became far too watery and tasteless. And even tho the pickle juice adds just enough salt, it also adds more acidity to an already tangy blend, so some sugar is needed for balance. Very quick and easy to put together -- just needs a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Made a few substitutions (trying to avoid sugar/milk) and it came out great! Substituted 1/2 cup rice dream+tbsp butter milk blend powder for the 1/4c milk&1/4c buttermilk. No white vinegar - used apple cider vinegar instead which gave it a sweetness - no sugar needed. 1/2c mayo instead of a salad dressing. Dill pickle juice makes this - no salt needed. Put this over broccoli slaw and my family loved it! P.S. my husband hate when I used substitutions for "real food" ie.. milk, sugar ect. He didn't even notice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States