Easy Decadent Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recipe. I made three versions: rum/black jimmies, bailey's/chopped Andes candies, & amaretto/small pieces of pecans. My husband is the taste tester and ALL he could say is yummy :) these will be a part of the Christmas presents to give to our friends along with other baked goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These were great, but I made a few changes to the recipe, since other reviewers said it was too sweet: I used 2 cups of confectioners' sugar instead of 3 I used Neufchatel cheese (it was all I had at the time) instead of cream cheese I used 2 cups of semisweet chocolate chips instead of 3 I separated the recipe (excluded the extract) into 4 different tupperware containers, and added 1 tsp of different extracts to each container to make different flavors (don't forget to label which one is which!). I put it in the fridge for 2 hours to harden. The chocolate melts in your hands easily while you're balling it up, so you have to really work quickly. The combinations I came up with were: Vanilla extract rolled in sprinkles Peppermint extract rolled in crushed candy canes (one of my faves) Almond extract rolled in crushed almonds Coconut extract rolled in shredded coconut (my other favorite) Melted peanut butter added to the chocolate mixture with peanut butter drizzle I put each truffle in a mini baking cup for easy serving/less mess, put it in tupperware and kept it in the fridge for 24 hours before serving and they tasted delicious! The taste was perfect and I got many compliments on them! I feel the recipe as written would have been too sweet for my liking, but the idea is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Amazing recipe!! This is my new Christmas tradition. My first batch I did by the recipe without alcohol. I used chocolate wafers (the kind you use for chocolate making), and a double boiler to melt them. They came out so good I made 3 more batches, and this time I used alcohol. One batch I used about 4 oz. Irish Cream (I used St. Brendan's), I had to add about 1 cup more confectioner's sugar to get it to the right consistency. The second batch I used 4 oz. Raspberry Liqueur (I used Di Amore), and again had to add about 1 cup extra confectioner's sugar. The last batch I used 2 oz. of Cointreau which is a orange flavored liqueur, and used about 1/2 cup extra confectioner's sugar. Most of the truffles I dipped in chocolate. I froze the truffles (after I made them into balls)for a couple hours (or overnight), then dipped in melted chocolate. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valk25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
They were good and easy but, the dough itself is very much like a chocolate frosting. Does not need the recommended time to sit in the refrigerator, if you leave it in that long it will become rock hard. My guests liked these but they like the oreo truffles so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe was delicious, but very, very sweet. Next time I will cut the sugar. Also, after refrigerating, it was very clumpy, so I put it back in the mixer for a few seconds to smooth it out-made a huge difference. I rolled my truffles in a mixture of coffee and cocoa-the bitterness with the sweetness was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I followed this recipe step by step and. It was perfect I don't usually write reviews especially when there are so many already. The only thing I didn't know, as I have never made a pie or tart before, (I made tarts) is how to know when they were done and how full to fill the tart shells :s I made them tooooo full ??thank you for this recipe it is honestly the perfect pecan filling I have ever tasted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I scaled down the recipe and found that the chocolate was really thick and upon refrigeration, went very hard. I just microwaved it for a few seconds and come to find out, it being hard made it easier to work with. I added peppermint extract and rolled the balls in red, green and silver crunchy sugar. They were delicious and I'd like to experiment with different extract flavors and toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starry Owl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I think I like these better than using heavy cream. The slight tang cream cheese with the sweet of the sugar and chocolate is rich. I only used 2C of the powdered sugar and I added 2T of Amaretto. They are divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as is and a second batch substituting peppermint extract instead of the vanilla. I rolled the vanilla batch in crushed almonds and sea salt and the peppermint batch in crushed candy canes. I used a melon ball scoop to get out the chocolate and then rolled them by hand. I left in them covered in the fridge for 2 days before delivering them as Christmas goodies to my co-workers. I got a TON of compliments on them at work (even from a colleague that used to run her own catering business). I would definitely make these again (especially with so many tempting combinations to try out!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Great recipe. Based on other cooks' recommendations, I reduced sugar to 2 cups, and for chocolate used 2 cups of chips + 2 oz. of dark chocolate. Refrigerated mixture overnight. Made two batches, each yielding about 4 dozen gumball-sized truffles (any smaller seemed skimpy): one batch had vanilla, the other real peppermint extract. For "regular" batch, rolled them in powdered sugar, cocoa, or shredded sweetened coconut. For mint batch, rolled in festive peppermint sugar or drizzled with melted white chocolate. Five versions in all...perfect in mini cupcake papers nestled in holiday tins for a lovely homemade gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States