Easy Decadent Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Maybe we're not truffle people because this recipe has such good reviews but we weren't impressed. We all thought they tasted like fudge. I added raspberry extract to half and orange extract to the other half. These just aren't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Tried a very small test batch of these last night and they turned out surprisingly good. I followed the recipe proportions exactly but used white chocolate chips and fat free cream cheese, as that was what I already had, and I did not want to invest a lot into ingredients before giving it a trial run. The "batter" was pretty stiff as I was mixing it up, and after chilling for an hour was the perfect consistency for rolling into balls. I think the issues with them being too gooey, as some reviewers stated, is from not using enough powdered sugar. The amount seems like a lot, but is necessary to get the proper consistency. They ARE extremely sweet, but I think that's great. You can eat one or maybe two, and it kills your sugar craving. I experimented with rolling them in a couple of different things that I had: crushed nuts, colored sugars, and hot chocolate mix (suggested by another reviewer - turned out AWESOME.) I am planning to buy peanut butter chips and Andes peppermint chips in addition to chocolate to make different flavors to give away. These looked beautiful even with the random coatings I used on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is a super easy and excellent recipe. I made these for my daughters baby shower and everyone absolutely loved them. 5 stars for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shar
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I have been making these at Christmas time for the past 3 years. In the coming weekend I will be making them again for this year. This is the easiest recipe for Truffles. They are so delicious. I had to triple the batch last year, and will again this year. I divide the mix and add make several flavours: mint, Bailey's, Coffee (using very finely ground coffee beans), orange, plain, cherry, amaretto, and whatever else I can think of. After rolling I dip each one into dipping chocolate to get a nice coating on the outside and decorate each flavour differently. These are a huge hit and people don't usually believe that they were homemade. Simply wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These tasted just like fudge balls. Good, but not what I was hoping for. Easy to make and the kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These are fabulous and very easy to do. I followed the suggestions of 2 c. powdered sugar and 2 c. chips. They were easy to roll after an hour in the fridge or even overnight (did a couple of batches; vanilla, raspberry & orange). Used a toothpick to dip them in Almond Bark (both chocolate and vanilla). Put squiggles of melted vanilla almond bark and paste food coloring on the tops so people could tell what flavor they were getting. I also did a batch with white chips, maple flavoring and vanilla almond bark. Amazingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Very tasty! I split the dough in half and make half almond flavored, dipped in melted chocolate and sprinkled with almonds and the other half with vanilla and dipped in peppermint chocolate. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I don't know why people felt the need to alter the recipe. I followed it exactly as it was written and they turned out perfect. I also had no trouble rolling it into balls. It was easy to handle after only a half hour in the fridge. Great recipe and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I had Peanut Butter chips on hand, so I tried this recipe with those instead of chocolate. The result is sinfully good, reminds me of Buckeyes, but in truffle form! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Parrott

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Mrs.A.VanScyoc
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Tried this out today. Definitely cut down the sugar and chocolate like everyone else says. They're still rich even when you do. I like the end result. Notes: White chocolate is easier to work with than milk and semi-sweet. Also, dipping these can be rough, because they start melting quickly. I found it better to just drizzle them instead. It's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.A.VanScyoc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States