Easy Decadent Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Made the first time to recipe and they were pretty good. But with adjustments they were fantastic! I wanted a truffle that had the really "melt in your mouth" center with the harder chocolate thick coating. I used 1 package of cream cheese, 2 cups of milk chocolate chips, 2 cups powdered sugar and 1 1/2 tsp almond extract. prepared as directed, but after rolling into balls, I put in the fridge for 1/2 hour to harden a bit more. I then melted 3 large squares of "almond bark" chocolate (dipping chocolate found in the chocolate chip part of the grocery store) and 3 large squares of "almond bark" vanilla. I melted them for 60 seconds in the microwave, stirred, 20 seconds more. Then dipped the balls in with a fork so chocolate could drip off and placed on wax paper to cool. These held up in tupperware for days. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
These turned out amazing! I made two batches total. My first batch was devoted to a raspberry truffle. I used 1 ½ teaspoons of raspberry extract instead of vanilla. For the other batch I made it just as the recipe said. I scooped the truffles with a melon ball scoop to make them uniform but still rolled by hand. After I rolled the truffles I put them on a cookie sheet on wax paper and put them in the freezer. While they were in the freezer I melted milk chocolate. I took out about a dozen truffles at a time and I dipped them. I put them on wax paper laid on my counter to set and continued to dip the remainder. I let them all set and my taste tester, my husband, told me that I needed to dip them again to get the nice thick coat of chocolate like Harry and Davids. I dipped them again after they had set the first time. For the raspberry ones I melted red dipping chocolate and drizzled over the top to distinguish them from the others. I was bringing them to a party so on some of the other chocolate ones for the kids I put on sprinkles and crushed candy canes while the chocolate was still a little tacky. The only problem I found was the candy cane toped ones didn’t store longer than a couple of days. The rest of the chocolate ones I drizzled some with white chocolate and some with dark chocolate. Next year I am going to take half of the chocolate batch and when I roll the truffle put a hazelnut in the middle. Thanks Jenny for the recipe it will be a new Christmas tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
667 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
With a few changes, some recommended by others, these live up to their name of being easy and decadent. I reduced the confectioner's sugar and chocolate chips to 2 cups each, added 2 oz. of Baker's Reserve 225th Aniv. 70& Cocoa Dark Bittersweet chocolate and 2 tablespoons of heavy whipping cream. I got 62 truffles. I used the large size of a melon baller as I was putting the finished truffle into paper bon-bon cups. My biggest recommendation is shaping. Even the melon baller would not work if the mixture was out of the refrigerator more than 10 minutes. So I drop dollops of mixture on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet, refrigerated for another 30 minutes and then rolled into balls. This produced a nicely shaped truffle. I refrigerated again for another 10 mintues before rolling in selected coatings. I processed the nuts into a meal using a food processor, doing the same for the coconut. Both looked awesome as did the cocoa powder coating. I also dipped some into melted Baker's White Chocolate and Baker's German Sweet chocolate. I used Ghiradelli chcolate chips. All these top of the line ingredients produced a creamy, yummy truffle that were gobbled down by the recipients. Once shaped and coated, they do not need to be refriegerated to hold shape. A keeper recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
578 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These truffles are amazing! I made a million of these for my Christmas party at work and here are some of the combinations I came up with: almond extract and roll in crushed almonds, peppermint extract and roll in crushed candycanes, rum extract and roll in toffee bits, hide a white chocolate chip in the middle and drizzle with melted white chocolate, hide a peanut butter chip in the middle and drizzle with melted peanut butter chips, add 1 tsp instant coffee granules and roll in cappucino powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Absolutely divine! I read some other reviews and found that some had trouble rolling. I, by accident, found a combination of chocolate that makes it easier to roll and, less time to sit in the fridge: Keep the powdered sugar and cream cheese and vanilla the same but for the chocolate, melt 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips and 6 oz brick form dipping chocolate. The dipping chocolate is much more firm than chocolate chips and it hardens quicker. Just adding those 6 oz allows for the mixture to be ready to roll after only 20 minutes in the fridge. The chocolate is sticky enough to hold crushed nuts or whatever you like to roll it in. Thank you for a very easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Great recipe. I'm only giving it 4 out of 5 because I had so much trouble keeping it from melting in my hands while rolling despite the length of time I refrigerated. Granted, I've never rolled truffles before so this could be totally normal. They were just a little difficult to work with. BUT DEFINITELY WORTH IT! They are yummy! I added mint oil to the truffle mix and then dipped in green melting chocolate (with more mint oil added) and sprinkled with crushed candy canes. They are gorgeous and delicious! The flavor rivals Andes after dinner mints and my husband who was sick of eating all the chocolate I made at Christmas this year actually felt refreshed after putting this final piece of candy in his mouth. I'll be adding these truffles to my holiday gift bags for years to come. I also made a 2nd batch with peanut butter. They rolled a lot easier for some reason. After rolling, I dipped them in dark chocolate. Creamy inside with the shell outside. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Truly Custom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
One word - EASY! I made 2 batches of these during the holidays. The first I followed to the letter and they were insanely easy to make. However, I found them too sweet and a little too hard as opposed to melt-in-your-mouth tender. The 2nd batch, I only used 2c of icing sugar and 2c of choco chips. I added 2 oz of bittersweet chocolate and 2 TBS of 15% cream (heavier cream is good too). This kept it sweet enough but more chocolatey. It was still easy to handle and form ie. was not runny, into a perfect little truffle ball but once you pop it into your mouth, it just melts and you wonder what you did to deserve this. I also divided the recipe in 2 and used 2-3TBS of brandy to one half and 2-3TBS of rum to the other. You only feel/taste the alcohol if you have stored it at least overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAS23
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
So delicious yet so easy. I brought this to a party and everybody was impressed! I did a variety of flavors and coatings. I divvied them into three batches and added 1 tsp. vanilla, 2 Tbsp. coffee liqeuor or 1 Tbsp. peanut butter (yep, gotta have PB). Than I rolled them in cocoa powder, confectioner's sugar, chopped hazelnuts or pistachio. And (yes, there's more), I also melted some semisweet chocolate chips and dipped some uncoated truffles before letting the chocolate coating solidify in the fridge. Simply, this recipe is very versatile and you can adjust it according to your whims ;) P.S. Although the recipe calls for 3 cups of sugar (wow!), I only used 1.5 cups and it turned out perfect: not too sweet, but sweet enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These came out wonderfully! only used 2 cups of powdered sugar. I also added in 1/2 cup cream. In half of it, I used raspberry extract and ended up tripling it to get it the right taste. I rolled them in cocoa. The other half I put in 2 tsp of instant coffee and rolled in some mocha mix. I believe we have a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
UPDATED review: After letting these truffles sit for awhile, they changed to a better consistency (started out as goo). The outside hardened up a bit (very nice!) but the inside was still creamy and not too hard. I took these to my family Christmas party and everyone loved them. I think everyone asked for this recipe! They are really, really rich, so you don't need a ton of them to satisfy your sweet-tooth. Old review read: You could eat these with a spoon. I reduced the sugar and the chips to 2 cups each, as suggested by other reviewers. I divided the batch in half and I mixed in some toffee bits and vanilla in one batch (rolled them in the toffee bits) and I mixed almond extract with the second half and "rolled" them in candied almonds I ground to a powder. The batch with toffee and vanilla didn't taste good at all... I had a hard time coating them, didn't work to "roll" them... I had to smash the topping into them. Then I tried to dip one of the "truffles" in melted chocolate, and it all just turned to goo Maybe it would work better with more sugar and choclate chips as the recipe suggested? By the way, I used milk chocolate chips. They were very creamy, but my husband likened the "truffles" to pudding... I will not use this recipe again. Sorry to give such a bad review :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States