Easy Decadent Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Brian
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I really thought truffles HAD to be dipped to be good. Not as written. Just rolled them in unsweetened cocoa, and unsweetened cocoa with fine ground coffee. Now, if you add liquid flavoring (rum, Grand Manier, Kahlua, etc), the truffle doesn't get as firm, and just soaks up powder coating. I used 2 tbls per 1/3 recipe and can barely taste (omit vanilla if other flavoring). On those, I did melt bittersweet chocolate with a dab of shortening, and dipped. The "shell" protects the soft middle. Word of advice, unless you like coma sweet, cut the sugar in half. I cut it down a third, and it's still a bit sweet. Will probably use 1/3 bittersweet chocolate next time. People talk about the time, but it's just easy. Having to wait an hour or so for them to harden enough to roll was the most time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
great recipe and easy to make but melts quickly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
These were great! I used vanilla extract as the recipe called for, coconut extract, and orange extract. I rolled the orange and vanilla in confectioners sugar and I rolled the coconut in flaked coconut. The coconut truffles were delicious! Everyone loved them! The vanilla was good but not as good as coconut and orange were not very good though my 6 and 8 year old brothers loved the orange. Overall great recipe and was really easy. I had no problem rolling them as other comments said they did. I will definitely make these again and they are perfect for a gift if you put them in mini cupcake liners. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I made these for valentines day as gifts . They not only turned out gorgeous , but they tasted AMAZING and I'm pretty discriminating when it comes to chocolate treats . DEFINATELY making again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Made these today but had to make a couple of changes. First, I didnt have chocolate chips, but I did have a HUGE bag of Vanilla chips, so I used those. Split into 3 even batches. Batch 1, I added 1 1/2 teaspoons almond extract. Batch 2 I added 2 tablespoons of cocoa. Batch 3 I added 2 tablespoons cocoa and 1 teaspoon Peppermint extract. I coated all three batches in Confectioners Sugar, then had my Husband and Mother-in-law (Who had never had truffles) sample them. My Mother-in-law enjoyed them (though she did complain that they were too rich), and my husband said he'd rather have these truffles then the ones that I pay $3-$5 a piece for. As for me, I LOVED these truffles. Also, all together the recipe made 3 dozen truffles, though I made them with about 1 tablespoon of mix, making each ball about 1 1/2 inches circumference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Loved this recipe. Made it for Christmas but only used 2 cups of the confectioners sugar. Also, I melted the chocolate chips in the microwave instead. Split the recipe into two and used mint and vanilla extract. My colleagues loved them at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Geist
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I followed this recipe ALMOST to a tee. The only thing I did, at the suggestion of many other reviewers, was cut out one cup of powdered sugar. I'm glad I did, otherwise I do think it would have been too sweet. Other than that, these turned out creamy, rich, and delicious! I did read some reviews that said the mixture got sticky and hard to make into a ball after a while, so I stirred in about 2 tbsp. of shortening to the mixture before I refrigerated it and that did the trick! My truffle mixture never got sticky while making the balls. This is definitely a keeper recipe that I can't wait to try playing around with again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Geist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. I rolled each one in granulated sugar for a sparkly affect. I took them to work and everyone loved them. I had requests for the recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I cant beleive how easy it was to make. I'm a cook, but recently I'm getting into baking. This recipe made me look like a pro at my ministers wives gathering!! It's easy, delicious and a real crowd pleaser :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADY FAITH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA
Living In: Central Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
These are a HUGE hit with my family and friends. The recipe is easy and the end product is a very good quality. I did increase the amount of flavoring to get a stronger effect, but other than that, I left it alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 762) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States