Easy Decadent Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I followed recomendations of previous reviewers and used 2 cups sugar and 2 cups chocolate. I used lindt 63% chocolate and they were very rich and decadent. I double dipped some in sweet German chocolate, rolled some in pistachio meal that I buzzed up in the food processor, and the rest in a combination of dutch cocoa powder combined with a bit of espresso powder. My favourite was the cocoa/espresso. But these were easy to make and a smash with my guests. Next time I'm going to try rolling around dried cherries and toasted hazelnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Easy and Delish. Turned out so pretty!! Was a nice addition to my holiday baked gifts....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recipe. I made three versions: rum/black jimmies, bailey's/chopped Andes candies, & amaretto/small pieces of pecans. My husband is the taste tester and ALL he could say is yummy :) these will be a part of the Christmas presents to give to our friends along with other baked goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These were great, but I made a few changes to the recipe, since other reviewers said it was too sweet: I used 2 cups of confectioners' sugar instead of 3 I used Neufchatel cheese (it was all I had at the time) instead of cream cheese I used 2 cups of semisweet chocolate chips instead of 3 I separated the recipe (excluded the extract) into 4 different tupperware containers, and added 1 tsp of different extracts to each container to make different flavors (don't forget to label which one is which!). I put it in the fridge for 2 hours to harden. The chocolate melts in your hands easily while you're balling it up, so you have to really work quickly. The combinations I came up with were: Vanilla extract rolled in sprinkles Peppermint extract rolled in crushed candy canes (one of my faves) Almond extract rolled in crushed almonds Coconut extract rolled in shredded coconut (my other favorite) Melted peanut butter added to the chocolate mixture with peanut butter drizzle I put each truffle in a mini baking cup for easy serving/less mess, put it in tupperware and kept it in the fridge for 24 hours before serving and they tasted delicious! The taste was perfect and I got many compliments on them! I feel the recipe as written would have been too sweet for my liking, but the idea is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Amazing recipe!! This is my new Christmas tradition. My first batch I did by the recipe without alcohol. I used chocolate wafers (the kind you use for chocolate making), and a double boiler to melt them. They came out so good I made 3 more batches, and this time I used alcohol. One batch I used about 4 oz. Irish Cream (I used St. Brendan's), I had to add about 1 cup more confectioner's sugar to get it to the right consistency. The second batch I used 4 oz. Raspberry Liqueur (I used Di Amore), and again had to add about 1 cup extra confectioner's sugar. The last batch I used 2 oz. of Cointreau which is a orange flavored liqueur, and used about 1/2 cup extra confectioner's sugar. Most of the truffles I dipped in chocolate. I froze the truffles (after I made them into balls)for a couple hours (or overnight), then dipped in melted chocolate. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valk25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
They were good and easy but, the dough itself is very much like a chocolate frosting. Does not need the recommended time to sit in the refrigerator, if you leave it in that long it will become rock hard. My guests liked these but they like the oreo truffles so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe was delicious, but very, very sweet. Next time I will cut the sugar. Also, after refrigerating, it was very clumpy, so I put it back in the mixer for a few seconds to smooth it out-made a huge difference. I rolled my truffles in a mixture of coffee and cocoa-the bitterness with the sweetness was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I followed this recipe step by step and. It was perfect I don't usually write reviews especially when there are so many already. The only thing I didn't know, as I have never made a pie or tart before, (I made tarts) is how to know when they were done and how full to fill the tart shells :s I made them tooooo full ??thank you for this recipe it is honestly the perfect pecan filling I have ever tasted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I scaled down the recipe and found that the chocolate was really thick and upon refrigeration, went very hard. I just microwaved it for a few seconds and come to find out, it being hard made it easier to work with. I added peppermint extract and rolled the balls in red, green and silver crunchy sugar. They were delicious and I'd like to experiment with different extract flavors and toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starry Owl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States