Easy Decadent Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
These are easy and delicious. Do not refrigerate too long before rolling in balls, because whatever you roll them in will not adhere,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
its a great and easy recipe i tots got it right. anyway it was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
The recipe was simple, which I loved since I tend to mess up recipes. I halved the recipes and made 30, which was more than plenty. The chocolates were sweet. I used crushed up graham crackers, crushed up peanut butter chocolate chips, and melted white chocolate as my toppings. Overall, everyone liked them, I would make them again. And my only complaint is that it does NOT take 1 hour to make these. The time given on the recipe is very misleading. They have you start off with melted chocolate, which is something you have to prepare right before (even if it doesn't take too long). You have to wait for the cream cheese to soften. Including ingredient preparations, I would say I spent about 20 minutes prior to putting the dough in the fridge for an hour. Then the rolling process took much longer than expected. The dough was crumbly and wasn't sticking together at first, so you have to roll it and soften the dough in your hand in order to get a nice looking solid ball. It took about 1-2 minutes per truffle to do this, times 30 truffles is 30-60 minutes additional. And if you plan on doing toppings, you should take time to account for that as well. It's still a good recipe, and I would definitely recommend you give it a try. But don't think you're going to finish the entire recipe with toppings in an hour. I would allot at least 3 hours if you're doing it on your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lil_cooker
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
super simple and tasty! my bible study raved! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil_cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Brian
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I really thought truffles HAD to be dipped to be good. Not as written. Just rolled them in unsweetened cocoa, and unsweetened cocoa with fine ground coffee. Now, if you add liquid flavoring (rum, Grand Manier, Kahlua, etc), the truffle doesn't get as firm, and just soaks up powder coating. I used 2 tbls per 1/3 recipe and can barely taste (omit vanilla if other flavoring). On those, I did melt bittersweet chocolate with a dab of shortening, and dipped. The "shell" protects the soft middle. Word of advice, unless you like coma sweet, cut the sugar in half. I cut it down a third, and it's still a bit sweet. Will probably use 1/3 bittersweet chocolate next time. People talk about the time, but it's just easy. Having to wait an hour or so for them to harden enough to roll was the most time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
great recipe and easy to make but melts quickly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
These were great! I used vanilla extract as the recipe called for, coconut extract, and orange extract. I rolled the orange and vanilla in confectioners sugar and I rolled the coconut in flaked coconut. The coconut truffles were delicious! Everyone loved them! The vanilla was good but not as good as coconut and orange were not very good though my 6 and 8 year old brothers loved the orange. Overall great recipe and was really easy. I had no problem rolling them as other comments said they did. I will definitely make these again and they are perfect for a gift if you put them in mini cupcake liners. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I made these for valentines day as gifts . They not only turned out gorgeous , but they tasted AMAZING and I'm pretty discriminating when it comes to chocolate treats . DEFINATELY making again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Made these today but had to make a couple of changes. First, I didnt have chocolate chips, but I did have a HUGE bag of Vanilla chips, so I used those. Split into 3 even batches. Batch 1, I added 1 1/2 teaspoons almond extract. Batch 2 I added 2 tablespoons of cocoa. Batch 3 I added 2 tablespoons cocoa and 1 teaspoon Peppermint extract. I coated all three batches in Confectioners Sugar, then had my Husband and Mother-in-law (Who had never had truffles) sample them. My Mother-in-law enjoyed them (though she did complain that they were too rich), and my husband said he'd rather have these truffles then the ones that I pay $3-$5 a piece for. As for me, I LOVED these truffles. Also, all together the recipe made 3 dozen truffles, though I made them with about 1 tablespoon of mix, making each ball about 1 1/2 inches circumference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Loved this recipe. Made it for Christmas but only used 2 cups of the confectioners sugar. Also, I melted the chocolate chips in the microwave instead. Split the recipe into two and used mint and vanilla extract. My colleagues loved them at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States