Easy Cut-Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Simple and easy to make. Used Wax paper for rolling dough out. Next time will use a little flour, dough can be very sticky. Flavor is a little dull. Might try a little (very little) cinnamon for stars, spearmint for trees, etc... next time. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boscobel, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I have been using this recipe for years. The reason they dont tast right to some poeple is because they didn't cook them long enough, plus the cookies need to sit for a least 5 hours after baking so the flavors blend. The only thing I do different is not melt the butter. I cut into little pieces and cut it into the dry, thus making themflakey. I just made these for valentines day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
The cookie recipe was easy, but the taste was awful. My husband who will pretty much eat anything wouldn't even eat these. They tasted like pure confectioners sugar. I would not suggest making these unless you like the taste of confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
this is the best recipe to use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Great easy to use recipe. For those of you who found it sticky - this is probably due to the flour/confectioner sugar ratio. I just added more confectioners sugar, bit by bit to make sure it didnt stick to the sides of the bowl, then in the fridge it went. You can also if you wish roll it out with confectioners sugar. This may also stop it being floury. You do have to work quickly when rolling out as the dough starts to warm up and become soft and unworkable. I would just harden again in the fridge and resue. These cookies tasted delicious (as we added more confectioners sugar) and the kids love using it to make things as well as using cookie cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
for taste I give this 5 stars, but as for using as a cut out recipe I am not sure what I did wrong. I refrigerated the dough then after I rolled it out and the kids used cookie cutters, the dough was like mush and the dough was to soft to maintain the shapes. We ended up making balls and doing our thumb prints in the middle then putting sprinkles on them. I would not use this for cut outs but as for a quick easy circular decorated cookie it works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This is the perfect cookie, with these changes: 1. Leave out the egg. 2. Add 1/4 cup more of flour. 3. Add 1 TB milk. With these changes, it is the butter cookie that has been passed down in my family and is irresistable especially when combined with icing. I used to make a buttercream frosting, until this year, when I tried the Sugar Cookie Icing recipe here at allrecipes.com. The recipe has Karo Syrup in it, which when dry, allows you to stack the cookies on top of each other and you don't even need wax paper to divide the layers. But if you want gooey frosting for the cookies and you don't care as much about storing them, just combine 1/4 cup butter with as much powdered sugar and milk to make the amount you need (and don't forget the almond extract because that is what makes these cookies special). I would have combined the icing recipe with the cookie recipe because it's the combo that makes this cookie great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made this recipe for using it for christmas cookies. I found it very easy and well worth the time to make. I refrigerated the dough for two hours. The only thing I did different is when I rolled out the dough I rolled it between two sheets of wax paper. Didn't use any flour to roll them out. It makes a big difference and works wonderful. Didn't have all the flour mess to clean up and didn't dry out the cookies like flour does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I was in a bind and had to do something with ingredients I had but I ended up not even taking them to the party we were going to because it was a pain to roll out, hard to cut out shapes, and when they came out of the oven they totally fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Great Family activity/decent cookies. We as in my 3yr. old daughter & husband, We made it light & thin, First off I cut the recipe in 1/2 (we're not big on Sweets)I halfed everything except the Egg, used unsalted butter, and used 1 cup unbleached white flour, and 1.5 tablespoon whole wheat flour, placed in the fridge for 3 hours, rolled on lightly dusted wood tabletop, and used wood rolling pin (also lightly dusted)with unbleached white flour. It yielded 30 cookies, we used small cut-outs (Dragonfly & Heart 3.5x3.5 inches). We still had to put some up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Secret Ingredient

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States