Easy Curry Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Too much curry and too bland otherwise. Agree with other posts that suggest using broth or something to doctor it up and make it better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Very easy to make, throw it and wait! That's the kind of dishes I like. I added a few things to the rice cooker. I added garlic powder, onion powder and extra curry. I'm using this as a base for a dish I make often and this was an awesome idea to cut down on prep time. I'd never thought to add anything but rice to the rice cooker! The only thing I see that it needs is salt,other wise the flavor of the curry isn't brought out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
too much curry. Learned my lesson by trying to take this shortcut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I also used a rice cooker and substituted unsweetened coconut milk for water and used 2T of red curry instead of the 3 of regular curry powder. Yield = perfect subtle curried rice. Use a fragrant rice like Basmati or Jasmine for maximum flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I'm sorry that I couldn't give this a more favorable review. Easy? Yes.... tasty? No....This recipe was plain and dull. To doctor it: You're better off adding some chicken/beef broth base or seasoning to the mix for flavor (I use Orrington Farms, no MSG). And doing this would keep true to the "easy" way. But honestly, you're better off making the "Authentic Bangladeshi Beef Curry" recipe that you can type in the search engine near the top of the page. Never stop trying nickval2010!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
it was good i had to add some other stuff to it like hog jaw and seasoning salt but it was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I don't understand the rave reviews. Followed directions to the T and it turned out inedible due to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made this with my rice steamer also, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This is a very EASY way to make curry rice. I cooked mine over the stove and when it was done cooking I added 3 tbs of olive oil and 1 tsp or yellow curry to a large skillet ( more like a rounded wok really, very deep) i then added 4 chicken thighs cut into 1 inch pieces and sauteed till cooked after they were done I put them in a bowl to wait, Using the same oil I added 2 med onions chopped and sauteed till they started turned brown, then I added a handful of coarsely chopped unsalted baking cashews to the mixture, returned the chicken and added the already cooked rice stirring frequently over med heat until thoroughly heated and mixed. Turn off the burner and let sit for 10 min or so. This will allow the cashews to really soak in the flavor and be nice and tender with the dish. I'm telling you this tastes just like the stuff they serve at restaurants. So good. Everyone LOVED it! happy cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I made this recipie just like it was instructed and it came out bland. Not sure if it was something I did wrong or what because the reviews said it was so good. I made it again with adding butter and salt and just a little bit to pan drippings from baked chicken and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States