Easy Curry Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Wow!!! I was making a coconut breaded chicken for dinner tonight and I needed something to go with it. I dug through my cabinet and found a box of plain couscous. I wasn't sure what to do with the couscous so I searched for a recipe that I thought would go with the coconut chicken. THIS WAS IT!!!! I didn't follow it exactly since a box of couscous didn't exactly fit the measurements that were listed in the recipe. Instead I just boiled a can of chicken broth, added olive oil, couscous, a few shakes of curry powder, a few shakes of dried cilantro, some sliced almonds, raisins & a shake or two of black pepper. It tasted amazing!!!!!!!!! I will definitely make this again. Thanks for helping me use up some pantry items too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Loved it! I used a combination of chicken and beef bullion to make the stock, since I didn't have enough chicken bullion. Omitted the salt as suggested. Added a can of water chestnuts for some crunchies, as well as a hearty dose of frozen mixed vegetables. It could use some red pepper to give it a kick, but overall -- super easy and fabulous tasting! Can almost be a meal by itself if enough veggies are added. I served with a side of grilled chicken with Caribbean Jerk seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Wow! coucous can always be counted upon for being fast and easy, but it can easily be bland. this one was fabulous, just the right amount of spicy flavor for kids and grown ups. I did add a clove of minced garlic to the chicken broth. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I thought this was delicious! My husband and 2 1/2 year old son loved it as well. I didn't have cilantro or almonds, but it was still great. My son really liked the raisins. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chriss Menna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I didn't like this but others I made it for did so I can't give it too bad a rating. All I tasted was curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggixial

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deerfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Wonderful EASY side dish. I can throw it together in 10 minutes start to finish and it is so tasty. A nice mild curry flavour. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Next time halve the curry. Used craisins instead of raisins, were my faourite part. Use 1 1/2 times next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I really appreciate you sharing this recipe Janis! This was a hands-down winner with my whole family. The only change I made was to use whole wheat couscous. I've been buying the whole wheat kind, 6 boxes at a time, from Amazon and using it as a healthier alternative to white potatoes and white rice. The problem has been that DH and sons didn't really appreciate the change! :) Anyway, last night's dinner went much better. I'll be making this often! Thank you for a keeper Janis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Loved this dish. One of the most flavorable couscous dishes I've tried. Will make this again. I did cut back a tad on the curry. My curry I buy from the Indian grocery store is hot. I'm not overly fond of hot!! I like a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I'm eating this as I'm typing it. I love this recipe! Very tasty! I will definitely be making it again! 8/2/12 Update: I have been making this several times because my family and I love it. I just made some for a birthday potluck at work today and I got rave reviews yet again. I normally make it exactly as it is written. I use McCormick's Curry and a low sodium chicken stock. Delicious and incredibly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reznut

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States