Easy Curried Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I used 2 large cauliflowers for 6, so doubled the ingredients. I cut the cauliflower into medium florets. Followed the recipe exactly and when it was time to add the cauliflower i folded the florets through the onion mixture and put on a lid. They were soft within 8 - 10 minutes. I like a bit more sauce so I then added a little tomato paste, cream (you could use plain yoghurt) and cardamon. I served it with brown rice. I put some in the oven to keep for my husband and it was so much nicer as the top was a little crunchy which made a better texture. Next time I will bake again like a gratin over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cesson

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Great recipe! I omitted the kidney beans and used a package of tofu instead (extra firm) - sauteed the chopped up tofu with the onions and spices until it was slightly browned. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a wonderful dish. Follow the tip to use garbanzo instead of kidney beans. Maybe use a can of fire-roasted tomatoes. Use the cayenne to your personal heat preference - I use less than this recipe calls for because I'm a sweaty wimp! Cook longer for softer cauliflower (and use frozen if it's cheaper). VERY aromatic and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was easy & delicious, and my first attempt at Indian. I did make 2 changes... I used chick peas instead of kidney beans (drained & rinsed) and I added about a tablespoon of hot red curry paste (I did not have any tumeric). I did a rough chop on the cauliflower. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Curry and kidney beans??? This screams LENTILS!! I used frozen (thawed) whole cauliflower; more than 1/2 an onion; 3 or 4 cloves of garlic; 1 tsp ground cumin; 1/4 tsp cayenne; 1 tsp coriander seed; one can lentils. Couldn't find garam masala... It was sooo good my BF is requesting it again for this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Wow! Easy and good. I used broccoli instead of cauliflower just because that is what we had. Added half a leftover yellow bell pepper when cooking the onion and one can of diced tomato instead of fresh. Tasty and filling with a little jasmine rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
One word: Delicious! This was such an easy and quick dish to make. I have tried so many times to make Indian recipes and have never succeeded in creating the right flavors and textures. I had just about given up when I tried this one. Amazing! So glad I tried this recipe, will definitely be making again and again. On a side note, I am not a big fan of kidney beans so I substituted the beans for green peas and it worked perfectly...Didn't even need rice with this, it was so filling on its own. I had some store-bought naan that i heated up with it, and it was a great compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
very good, we didn't especially like so much coriander seed in it, it kind of over powered the dish. However being from Indiana, maybe that's the way it's supposed to be and we just don't know it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was pretty good, but a little bland and a little dry for my taste. After adding potato and extra seasonings, it was significantly better. I would make again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bequita84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very tasty! I used fresh cauliflower from the garden and it turned out terrific! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States