Easy Curried Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gcgirl18
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
So this definitely ended up being a 5 star recipe! It was flavorful and delicious. There are some very critical changes I made to this recipe that I must mention. First, you must use garbanzo beans instead of kidney beans. This next step is also imperative! A couple of the other reviewers said that this recipe was slightly dry so they added a little sauce. I made a very small roux using only 1 Tbs butter and 1.5 tsp flour. I mixed in ¾ cup vegetable stock and seasoned it to make a small amount of sauce. Mix in with other ingredients and what you get is a ricey textured recipe which has that delicious tikka masala sauce taste. I only sprinkled a small amount of garam masala on top. This recipe is amazing when paired with fresh cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was awesome. I used ground cumin instead of seeds and really enjoyed the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by u2hezy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
It was very bland. Ended up adding more cumin and some garlic hot sauce and mixing with rice and a little feta cheese. Edible, but bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Great with Butter Chicken. My friend added 1/2 can coconut milk and green peas instead of kidney beans. Very nice dish! Steamed cauliflower florettes first and then really quick prep at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Overall it had a nice flavor, but didn't taste as exotic as it tastes in Indian cuisine when we eat out. Plus there was no real sauce to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
The seasonings are right on but the consistency is right off. it was dry. the photo shows a liquid and um there wasn't one so I added plain yogurt for a low fat version. I think adding coconut milk would be a more flavorful version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was tasty. I left out the garam masala (forgot) and it was still good. Will try it with next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Very unusual way of doing the cauliflower... never heard of it; but it works a treat, providing substance to the curry. I would only consider making this if you have a food processor though. A few reviews said the curry was too dry, so I added 1-2 cups of veggie stock that I had and that gave the meal some delicious depth. And I left out the garam massala at the end. The curry was perfectly spiced without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by God

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Super-easy to prepare and my guests loved it. It was gone in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
We really enjoyed this. I did not use any beans, but I did add about 3/4 of a can of lite coconut milk, because we wanted some kind of sauce with it. We served it over white rice. I also didn't have any ground coriander see, so I just added some chopped cilantro on top before serving. Delicious. Even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States