Easy Creole Okra and Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This was fabulous! I used what I had which was frozen chopped onions and frozen green peppers and frozen cooked deveined shrimp. I had no okra so diced-yes fresh celery-about two stalks. My seasonnong was tony c's and a bit to much salt for my taste but so good. Next time I will use 1 or less tbs. This was fast and easy especially if you only used fresh frozen prepped vegies. Was loved by all and no leftovers. Bummer for todays lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This is actually a good substitute for "real" gumbo. I thought it had good flavor. I added some celery, about half cup of Clamato juice and served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Frye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Great tasting! I made it a touch healthier by using 1 Tbs Olive oil and turkey sausage. I left out the salt and used fire roasted diced tomato. We will make this one again and again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Very good. however make sure that the Cajun seasoning is salt-free if you want to follow this recipe exactly, otherwise it will be way too salty. I just used a teaspoon of salted Cajun seasoning that worked perfectly, no need for any added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I made this not so easy on myself as I bought shrimp that I felt like I had to spend forever on to de-vein and remove the shells (cause I'm cheap) and I will not make that same mistake again...lol. Anyway, onto the rating. I think this was quite good, though I felt like it was a wee bit too salty for my taste. I'll have to check if my Cajun seasoning I used contained salt. My husband felt it was too spicy (wimp), but a family friend who previously resided in New Orleans said it was excellent and not spicy at all. I served this over brown rice and boy does it stick to your ribs! Thanks for the recipe! P.S. It was impossible for me to find fresh or frozen okra at any grocery store in this area (NJ) - I checked 4 stores! Finally just bought fresh at Produce Junction. We Northerners are denied easy okra access! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was great and so easy! I added some celery and garlic and used polish sausage instead of andouille. I will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I have made this twice with great results both times. It tastes MUCH better the next day! Even though it was pretty dang good the first day! Serve over rice or mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
amazing...didn't have the okra but put it on top of white rice felt like i was in the bayou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Very good . Served over white rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Great recipe! I simplify the recipe withtout using the meat, onions, and bell pepper. It is a great, healthy side dish when served with brown rice as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States