Easy Creole Okra and Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by carol
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Left out the okra. We are not Okra fans. No Cajun seasoning. .don't LOL mrs.dash was our Choice of spice. : ) put over rice. Grand kids gave their seal of approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Couple tweaks for our heat preference, other than that...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
My family loved this. The only thing I did differently was add a can of tomato sauce. It even taste better the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smilinbeauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Perfect recipe. I wondered rather or not to drain the cans of tomatoes, so instead of draining both I just drained one. And it was perfect :) My hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I made this several times, since I had some cajun seasoning to use up. I made it pretty much as is. But I thought the "2 teaspoons salt" was too much, so I omitted it from subsequent batches. I'd never bought andouille, but managed to find it at my supermarket. One quibble is that the quartered sausages seemed too big to me; I would prefer them sliced smaller. But in general, this was a tasty, varied dish, which I enjoyed a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This came out really good. I only added celery and vinegar to the addition of this recipe. My family loved it. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Really easy, tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great recipe! My husband loved it and he's such a picky eater. Only changes where I added 2 chopped celery stocks and sauted them with the onion and bell pepper. I also omitted the sausage but it still had great flavor. Will definitely at this to my list or recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was okay. It was bland for my husband and I but we like complex flavors. We like gumbo much better. I'm not sure I'll be making this again. If I do, I will use crushed tomatoes instead of diced. I browned the sausage first and then cooked the onion/peppers in the sausage drippings. Even then, it didn't do it for us. I used Tony C's spice; very salty (there are better seasonings out there). Sorry to be a downer. :( It was easy to make though! Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Very easy to follow recipe. Followed it, except for adding regular salt because the Cajun seasoning was salty enough. Turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States