Easy Creamy Peppercorn Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I could not find a peppercorn gravy mix so I used a country style peppered gravy. Served with mashed potatoes and this was a hit! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Lacked flavor. Wasn't anything special as it just tasted like chicken and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
so I made mine in a crock pot. I added 3 cans of cream of mushroom, I used 1.5 cups of water, frozen chicken, half of an onion and a container of mushrooms. It was really "runny" gravy after cooking all day... So I added two cups of brown rice and let it cook for another hour and a half and that thicken it right up. It was pretty good. If I make it again, I'll add baby carrots to the mix too. It was very filling. Next time, I'll add more peppercorn gravy mix ~ I would have liked it a bit more "peppercorn-y". Otherwise, Very good! And very simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
My nephew and I had a fabulous time making this dish. Some reviewers mentioned its lack of flavor but liked its simplicity. Others say it’s perfect for a family meal but not for a dinner party. If you have the time to experiment, this basic dish lends itself nicely toward gourmet modifications. We used one pkg. of Country Gravy mix (as did other reviewers), but with 1-1/2 cups of water, rather than the one cup called for in the recipe, and lots of fresh cracked pepper. What really made it over-the-top delicious was adding about 1/2 cup of a high-quality dry sherry to the gravy mixture, along with about 1-1/2 tsp. poultry seasoning. We sautéed one large sliced onion and a lot of sliced fresh mushrooms in butter and sherry until golden. We then layered the sautéed onion/mushroom mixture over the chicken pieces, and topped it off with the COMBINED mushroom soups and gravy (thus eliminating the need to drag a hot dish out of the oven halfway through cooking time). Our chicken was very thick, so cooking time was extended. This is definitely the most tender chicken you could ask for! Served atop white rice with a crisp green vegetable on the side. Everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Very good and super easy! Even my picky eaters loved this recipe. The only change I made was that I added a packet of lipton onion soup mix to the gravy and water, because I had no onions. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
We tried this in our crockpot and it was delicious. We went the easy route and bought some Bob Evans mashed potatoes and it was a very hearty meal with a vegetable added. We enjoyed it a lot...didn't change anything about the recipe other than the method of cooking. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs (9) instead of chicken breasts. Mixed the soup and gravy together before pouring over the chicken. Very tasty. Will cut down on the liquid added to the gravy mix next time to keep the consistency of the sauce slightly thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
We loved this. Leftovers freeze very well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I am not sure if I can even rate this recipe 1 star!! PLEASE do not waste your time or energy!!! Our family got a laugh making fun of how much we did not care for the taste, lucky for me we had leftovers as a stand by!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spikes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
RECIPE WORKS, CHICKEN WAS JUICY.. I FLATTENED AND BROWNED MY BONELESS BREASTS BEFORE BAKING.. IT WAS JUST O.K.. HUSBAND DID NOT LIKE AND WOULD NOT EAT AGAIN.. NOTHING WRONG WITH IT, JUST WAS NOT TO OUR LIKING... THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States