Easy Creamy Chicken Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Great recipe! It was pretty quick and easy and very good. There were a couple major adjustments however that I made. I ended up using about 1/2 cup half and half, since I didnt have heavy cream on hand. Either way 1/8 would not have been enough. Also 1 pound of mushrooms seemed like a bit much, I ended up using 2 small cans of mushrooms instead. I just didnt saute them. Thirdly 5 teaspoons seemed a bit outrageous, and this is from someone who loves pepper. I used about 1 1/2 teaspoons of pepper instead. Fourthly, insyead of using 2 tablespoons of Paprika, I started with one teaspoon and from there added a little more to taste. And lastly, had I added 3 cups of cheddar cheese, we may as well have had nachos, so I just added about 1 1/2 cups. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
I hadn't read any of the reviews before I made this dish and found it to be absolutely amazing that people would actually use 5 tsps. of pepper and then complain that there was too much pepper in this recipe! I used about 3/4 of a tsp. and it was delicious. Thanks shadowhawk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Delicious! I added a bit more soup than it called for and to cut down on the calories and fat I used a fat free mushroom soup and instead of cream I used 1% milk. It was really good and I WILL make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
It's a good recipe. As other reviewers, i didn't use pepper as much. I modified the recipe to my taste and ingredients i had at the time. I used penne pasta, used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream. I didn't have condensed cream of mushroom, so i used condensed cream of potato and pureed it. I also used the can of breast chicken which already salty, so i didn't use any salt for seasoning. Added some mozarella cheese instead of cheddar cheese. and seasoned with pinch of herbs for final touch. And it turned out really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I honestly thought there was a mistake w/the measurements in this recipe. WAY too much pepper, paprika and cheese. Not nearly enough cream. I followed the recipe exact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
First, make sure you add the pepper to taste! If you dump in the whole amount I think you will be rather disappointed! I also added the paprika to taste. Instead of canned cream of mushroom soup, I made my own to avoid all the additives: sauteed some chopped 'shrooms in butter, added some garlic and sauteed a few minutes more. Then added some flour, cooked out the starchy flavor a bit, then added some milk, and then some chicken stock (which I boiled and strained after I poached and cubed the chicken for this recipe), and a dollop of sour cream. Seasoned with salt, pepper and added some parsley. Tasted WAY better than the canned stuff, YUM! Unfortunately, the final result of the overall recipe was nothing that made us say "wow." Seemed as though it was missing something but couldn't put a finger on it. Was alright but I don't know that I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I lowered the calories in this recipe by using half the cheese, skim milk, and 2 tbsp of nonfat yogurt, no margarine and spraying my pan with olive oil! And still great on taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
Too much pepper!!!! If it's reduced to 1 Tablespoon it tastes really good, and is really easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
We had leftover roast chicken from Christmas and I had a can of mushroom soup sitting in the cupboard so I randomly searched for a recipe using both ingredients. I had the rest of the ingredients so I decided to give it a try. It was creamy and delicious! Easy meal to prepare! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I halved the pepper and added more cream and milk. This serves 5 if they have huge appetites, more like 6-8 if average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States