Easy Cream of Chicken Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
With a few adjustments to suit my cooking habits and family's tastes this was easily a five-star recipe. I doubled both the onion and garlic; omited the herb bundle; and added 1 cup of water into the soup, using non-instant rice which I also simply added into the pot THEN simmered for the 25 minutes. Perfect! My husband thought it was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This is a good, easy recipe. I added some heavy cream and little more flour to the broth for a creamier texture. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This was great. I had some changes. Used leaks instead on onions so I had to add more garlic and doubles spices (used dry). Because I used oat flour instead of all purpose I added some tapocia starch thinken it up a little. Husband loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
super...simple...superbly done! Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This soup is sooo good I am making it again. It was EASY! My kids and my honey all loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was super easy to make. My 9 year old daughter loved it. My husband wants it a little thicker. Next time I will add some cream and more flour to thicken it. I loved using whole spices and bundling them. It gave the soup a good flavor without having to eat the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
my husband and i both really liked this recipe. i had to kinda wing it at the beginning because i chose to boil the chicken rather than cook it in the olive oil. i deviated slightly from the recipe by using dried spices (guess-timated the amounts), adding carrots and adding some cornstarch at the end to thicken it up. but it was still a really good recipe..i would definitely recommend it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This recipe is quite good but I like a little more exotic flavors. I used a whole large onion and added a chopped hot pepper and 1 tsp. curry powder to give it some zing. I used cooked brown rice I had on hand instead of instant. A little different but very, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is such an easy and wonderful recipe!!! It tastes and smells AWESOME!! I added more flour for more thickness but other than that it was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cubbie_Girl
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This recipe was great. I had to substitute a few ingredients, but it turned out so well. I used Uncle Bens Wild Rice microwavable pouch and dried minced onion. I also added a few spices since I didn't have any Old Bay seasoning. I will definitely be making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States