Easy Cream of Chicken Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
It was okay. Not as creamy as I had thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Awesome!! My husband flipped over this. He does the majority of the cooking so when I make something good, he's always excited. This was a huge help, and easy - Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This makes for a good cream soup base. I doubled the onion, added asparagus, and added the non-instant rice with the broth and 2% milk (one extra cup of broth). I used one packet (.75 lb) of Schwan's roasted pulled chicken. I omitted the spice packet, but added a bay leaf and celery seed. This simmered down to a very thick and creamy soup, which I thinned just a touch with leftover broth. Hubby really liked the kick the Old Bay gave it. This is my new go-to base for cream soups. I'm looking forward to trying this out with different ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALPINDELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Shorewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was really a great and easy recipe! I made it with my 11 year old. I didn't have fresh herbs on hand and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars even though I made some tweeks with it after reading ALL of the previous reviews. This is a great base recipe, but we all have different tastes, so it bothers me when people cut down a recipe without making their personal adjustments to it. I made this last night for a Men's get together that is happening tonight. I doubled the recipe & made these adjustments: instead of chicken breasts, I got a roasted chicken from my local grocery and chopped all the meat up. I used 2 onions, 8 cloves of garlic (we like garlic). I used 6 cups chicken broth, 4 cups half/half, 2 cups heavy cream. I didn't use the spice bundle, instead just added 2 TBSP of dried parsley. Even though I doubled the recipe, I used only 1 1/2 cups of cooked rice. I also sprinkled in some of Paula Deen's "House Seasoning"...I always have that on hand. I did have to add a little bit of corn startch to thicken it up a bit...but the final product was PERFECT! I will definitely be making again. BTW, the longer it cooks on the stove, the better. Tonight I will be transfering it over to my crock pot to keep it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Excellent recipe! Very easy to make and even my picky eater loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
It was delicious. I was disappointed though because it didn't thicken as much as I thought it would. It was rather runny. I also have no clue what Old Bay Seasoning is & what would be comparable. My son did not like it. I think it would have been good to add some vegetables like celery & carrots, but for once I followed the recipe closely, even down to the shredded chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rayni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Not bad. I did make several changes though. I didn't have chicken stock so I just used chicken bullion. I added chopped carrots, celery, and green beans and added a few extra spices. I basically just loosely followed the recipe and made changes as I felt like it or needed to due to lack of ingredients. I also thought that this recipe was skimpy on serving sizes. I added extra liquid and still it did not feed as many as it said it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gardengrl
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
A perfect soup for a cold day! I omitted the thyme simply because I’m not a fan of it. I chopped 1 TBSP of fresh parsley and added it to the soup; as opposed to making an herb bundle. I had leftover chicken breasts from the night before. I chopped up the chicken and added to the soup and simmered as called for. I also had leftover rice, which I added to the soup once I turned the heat off. The Old Bay Seasoning adds a delightful flavor and browning the flour beforehand makes for a wonderfully creamy soup without the floury taste. The best recipe for cream of chicken soup I’ve yet to find, and sooooo… simple! The recipe states that it serves 12. I halved the recipe and it was only enough for one meal for my husband and me. If you’re using this for a main course, as I did; you may want to increase the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States