Easy Cream of Chicken Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This is a wonderfully flavored soup Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
OH my my my this soup is a really great starter recipe ! I use this as a base for about five or six favorites. Substitute broccoli or mushrooms for the chicken. I sometimes add ONE CUP of shredded cheddar, and sometimes i dont ! Very nice mixture of ingredients and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I Had never tried a cream soup before . So this looked easy enough . Those who hate changes will not like this review - but I always use a recipe I find for a base and then add what I like and take out what I dont. I boiled 2 chicken legs with thigh att and then took the meat off . Added chicken bouillon , bay leaf , all spice , garlic minced , pepper and salt , celery & onion . let cook for a bit and then added my 3 cups of regular milk , instant rice ( all I had on hand ) a grated carrot and potato. Then thickened with a flour cold water mixture . Let cook for approx 10 min more and wow - it was perfect a nice thick hearty soup - not one that needs crackers . A meal in it self ! Will def be making again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
5 stars for taste ... DELICIOUS (keep in mind I made mods due to my special-needs-diet)!! 4 for presentation (it's not very pretty). I changed it to make it SND friendly, as I am gluten-allergic & I eat paleo (keep your thyroid healthy, kids, if you don't want to end up like me). Hubby loved it, too! He came home tired & this quickly made his world a better place. 1st mod: grapeseed oil over olive for its higher smoke point and lighter taste. 2nd mod: no flour. It's not a bisque; it doesn't need to be thick. 3rd mod: sub one can regular (NOT LITE) coconut milk instead of half/half. Coconut fat is super-healthy and easy to digest. Keep it in 4th mod: deglaze the pan with a generous pour of dry white wine after sauteeing vegetables & before adding the other liquid, because YUM! Cheap is fine (I use pinot at sprouts for 3/$10 & use about 1/3 bottle. Let the veggies soften in the wine at a simmer for a few mins) 5th mod: thinly sliced 2 white mushrooms & added to veggies when I added the wine 6th mod: Omitted bay leaf. Tossed thyme and parsley in loose and removed stems later. 7th mod: Poured soup over rice (hubby eats rice, I don't). Made regular jasmine rice in rice cooker. We have greyhounds who eat rice nightly, so we always have rice in the cooker. Fine-sliced green onion, grated carrot and fresh parsley for garnish improves the look. Paleo is no-dairy, but I believe in sauteeing onion and garlic in butter. Keep the butter. Defat leftovers before reheating. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goapril

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Really good, I made some changes based on earlier reviews. I added 2 ribs of celery and 2 carrots with one large onion. Also, increased flour to about 1/3c. I didn't have fresh herbs, so used dried, and made some regular white rice to add. I had to add chik stock as it sat, so keep extra. I probably added 3 additional cups over the course of the afternoon. Kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I used cooked brown rice, a whole sweet onion and added 1/2 of a finely chopped jalapeno to suit my tastes; I also omitted the flour - and besides reducing the milk to 12 oz. (I use canned milk when cooking) and adding a few ounces of cream cheese for richness - I pretty much kept this recipe intact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by markishmark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Definetly a good start for those who have never made this kind of soup before like myself. Tweaked the recipe a ton but I love to experiment. Doubled up the recipe and added prob 3 cups of flour cause I love thick soup. Also added celery cause I'm a celery junkie. Turned out really good. For those who don't know what kitchen twine is like me it's only a fancy kitchen term for string :) Had fun making this so I totally recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
It was okay. Not as creamy as I had thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Awesome!! My husband flipped over this. He does the majority of the cooking so when I make something good, he's always excited. This was a huge help, and easy - Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This makes for a good cream soup base. I doubled the onion, added asparagus, and added the non-instant rice with the broth and 2% milk (one extra cup of broth). I used one packet (.75 lb) of Schwan's roasted pulled chicken. I omitted the spice packet, but added a bay leaf and celery seed. This simmered down to a very thick and creamy soup, which I thinned just a touch with leftover broth. Hubby really liked the kick the Old Bay gave it. This is my new go-to base for cream soups. I'm looking forward to trying this out with different ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALPINDELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States