Easy Cream of Chicken Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Easy and delicious! Helpful hint: sear the chicken first then add water to let the chicken cook through, and then use the chicken broth in the soup! I ended up adding at least 1 cup extra broth to thin out the soup. Used instant brown rice and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This was a very good recipe but like all recipes I put my own touches into it. I had roasted a chicken the night before so I used the left over chicken from it. I also added 1/2 white wine and cut down the milk 1/2 cup. In place of 1 cup of broth I added the left over gravy from the night before that was chicken broth based. I didn't have Old Bay so I used Emerill's chicken rub and about 1/2 tsp. of tarragon. I also sauteed about 1/2 lb. baby portabellas and 1/2 matchstick carrots in TBS. of butter and added it with the rice and about 1/2 steamed peas. Simmered it for 30 minutes, removed the bay leaf, added a little fresh ground sea salt and pepper to taste. Absolutely delicious. Very elegant soup, I felt like I could serve it at a dinner party. I think fresh aspargus in season would be good in it too. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I loved the recipe, but changed it to fit my own style, I used a Pt. of heavy whipping cream instead of milk, mixed with a thickening agent to the broth. After thickened with all the other ingredients, I added Gnocchi's to the cream mix, tastes like Olive Garden's Chicken & Gnocchi soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
The best cream of chicken rice soup ever. I was very easy to make. It took a little longer then the time stated but that might have been because I used bone in split breast instead of boneless. Also it was very thick so next time I will probably add more chicken broth then recommended. Will definitely make it again instead of regular chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This recipe was great. I had to substitute a few ingredients, but it turned out so well. I used Uncle Bens Wild Rice microwavable pouch and dried minced onion. I also added a few spices since I didn't have any Old Bay seasoning. I will definitely be making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is such an easy and wonderful recipe!!! It tastes and smells AWESOME!! I added more flour for more thickness but other than that it was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cubbie_Girl
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This recipe is quite good but I like a little more exotic flavors. I used a whole large onion and added a chopped hot pepper and 1 tsp. curry powder to give it some zing. I used cooked brown rice I had on hand instead of instant. A little different but very, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
my husband and i both really liked this recipe. i had to kinda wing it at the beginning because i chose to boil the chicken rather than cook it in the olive oil. i deviated slightly from the recipe by using dried spices (guess-timated the amounts), adding carrots and adding some cornstarch at the end to thicken it up. but it was still a really good recipe..i would definitely recommend it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was super easy to make. My 9 year old daughter loved it. My husband wants it a little thicker. Next time I will add some cream and more flour to thicken it. I loved using whole spices and bundling them. It gave the soup a good flavor without having to eat the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This soup is sooo good I am making it again. It was EASY! My kids and my honey all loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States