Easy Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I’ve made cream cheese frosting countless times and have never had any issues doing so – until the last time I made cream cheese frosting. It was considerably gloppier than I wanted it, and this was a big concern because rather than spreading it onto a sheet cake I wanted to pipe it onto cupcakes. I had to do a LOT of doctoring to get it to an acceptable thickness and it wasn’t “a piece of cake” (ha!) to get it there. I’ve been spooked ever since. Today was the day to give it another shot and I was determined not to have a repeat of this. I did some snooping around online and came up with a couple of tricks I was eager to try. I chose to use them on this recipe for its lesser amount of powdered sugar than most. So…tips I tried were to mix the butter and powdered sugar together first, just till the mixture is smooth. Then add the COLD cream cheese, which of course is still malleable, piece by piece, being careful only to mix just till smooth and not overbeating. One last thing I did, just for good measure, was to limit the vanilla to just one teaspoon, as I didn’t want to add any more liquid than necessary. It all worked! The frosting was thick, luscious and perfect for piping – it really held its shape. I love this frosting flavor-wise too - not too sweet, yet not too tangy, but still a good, pleasantly sweet cream cheese flavor. Since I used this to frost lime cupcakes, I infused it with a tablespoon of grated lime zest. This stuff is goooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
One of my favorite frostings EVER. I like to use pure vanilla extract in this recipe and add a pinch of salt only because Grandma always taught me to add a little salt when making frosting. It's so good you want to eat it out of the mixer bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
A good and straight forward start, but you really are going to need more powdered sugar anyway, to get the texture right, unless you just want a sort of glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
My official taste-tester gives his seal of approval on this recipe! After years of making cream cheese frosting, I've ALWAYS been annoyed by the hassle of bringing the cream cheese to room temp before being able to make the frosting. Well, I decided to follow Naples suggestion of mixing the butter and sugar FIRST, then add COLD cream cheese...what an awesome idea! And it WORKS!! This recipe (and Naples method) is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
It was just okay. It had a hint of sweetness that just wasn't robust enough for us. I didn't add the salt like recommended by others and perhaps I should have. I may try this again, but do plan to enhance it maybe with more sugar and some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
YumYumYum!! Wonderful! enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I only added half of the sugar because I prefer mine less sweet. Delicious on the Applesauce Cake VI!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Super simple, tasty and if you add a pinch of salt (1/4 tsp) it balances the sweetness perfectly. I added cinnamon extract and you can easily take this recipe and add almond, lemon, peppermint - whatever compliments what you are baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I loved how easy it was. I made an Apple cake today and frosted it with this. I only used 1 cup of sugar because we don't like things to sweet. Love how easy and perfect this recipe turned out.. room temperature butter and cold cream cheese. Did as directions said and mixed those until creamy then added 1 cup of shifted powdered sugar and a Teaspoon almond and vanilla flavor. Perfect consistency..and delicious as written. Thank yu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg Arnett
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Was perfect for some cookies I was making! I halved it and it still turned out great. I loved that it didn't have too much powdered sugar because I love the cream cheese taste and this was so simple and easy. I had it made in less than five minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States