Easy Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
One of my favorite frostings EVER. I like to use pure vanilla extract in this recipe and add a pinch of salt only because Grandma always taught me to add a little salt when making frosting. It's so good you want to eat it out of the mixer bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
A good and straight forward start, but you really are going to need more powdered sugar anyway, to get the texture right, unless you just want a sort of glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Just made this for cinnamon rolls. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Super simple, tasty and if you add a pinch of salt (1/4 tsp) it balances the sweetness perfectly. I added cinnamon extract and you can easily take this recipe and add almond, lemon, peppermint - whatever compliments what you are baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
It was just okay. It had a hint of sweetness that just wasn't robust enough for us. I didn't add the salt like recommended by others and perhaps I should have. I may try this again, but do plan to enhance it maybe with more sugar and some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I’ve made cream cheese frosting countless times and have never had any issues doing so – until the last time I made cream cheese frosting. It was considerably gloppier than I wanted it, and this was a big concern because rather than spreading it onto a sheet cake I wanted to pipe it onto cupcakes. I had to do a LOT of doctoring to get it to an acceptable thickness and it wasn’t “a piece of cake” (ha!) to get it there. I’ve been spooked ever since. Today was the day to give it another shot and I was determined not to have a repeat of this. I did some snooping around online and came up with a couple of tricks I was eager to try. I chose to use them on this recipe for its lesser amount of powdered sugar than most. So…tips I tried were to mix the butter and powdered sugar together first, just till the mixture is smooth. Then add the COLD cream cheese, which of course is still malleable, piece by piece, being careful only to mix just till smooth and not overbeating. One last thing I did, just for good measure, was to limit the vanilla to just one teaspoon, as I didn’t want to add any more liquid than necessary. It all worked! The frosting was thick, luscious and perfect for piping – it really held its shape. I love this frosting flavor-wise too - not too sweet, yet not too tangy, but still a good, pleasantly sweet cream cheese flavor. Since I used this to frost lime cupcakes, I infused it with a tablespoon of grated lime zest. This stuff is goooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
My official taste-tester gives his seal of approval on this recipe! After years of making cream cheese frosting, I've ALWAYS been annoyed by the hassle of bringing the cream cheese to room temp before being able to make the frosting. Well, I decided to follow Naples suggestion of mixing the butter and sugar FIRST, then add COLD cream cheese...what an awesome idea! And it WORKS!! This recipe (and Naples method) is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
First review ever! This was awesome. I mixed the butter with sugar first and then added in the cream cheese per other reviews. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenTeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
really good, might need to double it for a layer cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Very easy. Tastes great. Works well even without the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States