Easy Cream Cheese Danish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
This is wonderful, I've been making it for several years using the flaky Pillsbury crescent rolls. The recipe as published here makes too much filling for a single batch. I use one package of cream cheese, 1/2 cup sugar, 1 tsp lemon juice, 1 tsp vanilla and 1 TBSP sour cream and it turns out perfect every time. In the frosting, I use half & half instead of milk and add 1/4 tsp almond flavoring. You'd never know this danish wasn't made in a fine bakery. I am asked for the recipe every time I make it. NEW EDIT: The new Pillsbury crescent sheets without the perforations are great for this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
My mom passed this recipe on to me and it's FABULOUS! My mom changed the directions slightly - she leaves the cresent dough rolled up and slices it into about 1/4" thick slices...then she flattens the middle a bit, fills it with the filling and bakes them. This makes tiny round danishes like the ones we buy frozen from Costco. They're awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
I woke up this morning craving danish. I had all of the ingredients on hand except lemon juice. I thought the suggestion of several previous reviewers to slice the crescent dough into rounds instead of making a top and bottom layer in a pan sounded interesting, so I sliced the crescent rolls into about 1/4 inch thick slices (dental floss makes this very easy!). I mixed up the filling and substituted 1/2 teaspoon lemon extract for the lemon juice (turns out that made it taste exactly like the danish filling I'm used to getting at the bakery!). I flattened down the center of each dough circle and filled the depression with a spoonful of filling and baked for 15 minutes. They came out great! Cute little mini danish. Half a recipe of filling is plenty for two tubes of crescent rolls. Don't overbake, they should just barely be golden or the danish will be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Loved the filling, but I don't like canned dough. What I did use was puffed pastry and once philo. I rolled out puffed pastry then cut in 4 inch squares, put a tablespoon of filling in centre and pinched opposit corners baked 15 minutes in a 400F oven delious. Philo is just as easy. Unroll thawed pastry cut in 5 inch squares put into muffin pans then a spoon of filling. Taste is much better and realy not much more work with frozen puff and pholo pastry. Finish both with a sprinkle of powered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
Excellent and, indeed, easy. I used the suggestion of a previous reviewer and sliced the crescent roll dough (like purchased cookie dough) rather than roll it out. I managed 20 slices per tube of dough. After flattening the middles, I could put almost a tablespoonful of cream cheese filling in the center of each. I reduced the filling amount by half and still had more than I needed. (I just refrigerated the extra; I KNOW I will be making these again soon.) I drizzled each individual danish with the glaze. This was a wonderful addition to the buffet set out for a breakfast meeting. Not a single crumb left. My next experiment will be to add a spoon of blueberry pie filling along side the spoon of cream cheese mixture. My local bakery makes awesome blueberry cream cheese danishes. I don't see why I can't too. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
Not bad! I took the harder approach and sliced the canned crescent rolls into 40 slices (20/roll). Made the whole filling amount w/exact ingredients listed and added 1/2 T. of sifted flour to stabilize it, had about 1/4 c. left over. The crescent rolls lack the true flavor of danish pastry (buttery/sugary), so next time I'll beat 1 egg w/1 T. water, brush the rounds and sprinkle w/a little sugar before filling them. When you make them this way (rounds vs. sheet-style), they take about 15 min. Watch them closely, and let them get golden brown for more of a bakery effect. I put about 1/2 T. of filling (before baking!)after indenting middle of the crescent rounds - was more than enough, and they will settle (shrink) a little when cool. I used parchment paper on the baking sheets - worth the investment, cleanup's a breeze! Also - the glaze was very stiff, but you want it that way to firm up like a frosting. An easier way to drizzle them is: 1) Make the glaze in a micro-safe dish, nuke for 5-10 seconds (watch closely, don't boil it - just want to make the glaze "pourable"), use a funnel to put it in a squeeze bottle, and drizzle away on COOLED pastries (so it doesn't run, makes it more authentic). I may try next time with puff pastry rounds in a muffin pan. Your friends will be impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This came out perfect with (like others mentioned) half the filling mixture. Next time I may even use a little less than half of the sugar (like 1/3 cup). I laid the crescent unrolled and flat into the baking dish, topped with cream cheese mixture, then made three "stripes" with strawberry pie filling. I topped it with the second unrolled crescent roll and left some of the filling show, then made three "stripes" of pie filling on the top. Baked for 25 minutes and it was pretty and tasty!! Also, I used 3/4 cup of powdered sugar and 2 tablespoons of milk for the topping so it would drizzle. Next time I'll try the slicing method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
UN.BE.lieeeeeeavable! i halved the recipe, and added a splash of almond extract to the frosting. i also spread the filling, then rolled the dough up, loaf-style, and it came out looking & smelling like something from a bakery! i think next time i may also add some almond paste to the cream cheese filling and sprinkle slivered almonds on the frosting, just to experiment. so easy and so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
Thanks for this super easy but extra speical breakfast/brunch family favorite. I bake this in my Pampered Chef rectangle baker and get excellent results each and every time. I've added fresh blueberries or canned pie fillings for a change but I rarely ever use the glaze, too sweet for my tastes. I do an egg wash and then sprinkle with a cinnamon/sugar mix most of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I love this danish! I cut the recipe in half & cook it in an 8 inch square glass dish. I left out the lemon juice (didn't have any) but it's still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States