Easy Cream Cheese Danish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
We first ate this fresh, hot from the oven and my thoughts were it was good but not great. However, we discovered that after it sat and was cold...it was great! I do think there was enough filling that 1/2 of the recipe for it might be better. The dough on bottom didn't get totally done and was gooey in spots, so less filling would probably help. If you prefer alot of filling, putting the bottom crust in to bake for a few minutes before you assemble the whole thing might help. Very good recipe, can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALOUONIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Loved this! I took these yummy Danishes to a church breakfast and received so many compliments!!! I put some sugar on top of the dough before it baked because I wasn't sure it'd be sweet enough. But they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coatesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Meeteetse, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
OMGosh!! The cream cheese filling is amazing! The crescent rolls tasted like crescent rolls which were not appealing at all. I decided to make them again but this time I made them with puff pastry and added cherry filling to the cream cheese filling and they were DELISH!! My guests raved about them because they looked like they came from a bakery. If u make these, ditch the crescent rolls and use pillsbury puff pastry, you'll be much happier with the results!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I made this recipe early this morning just as written except for adding an egg wash as others had suggested. I was very pleased with the end result and it was easy to make so I have no complaints ;) Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sindarella32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Great recipe. Always get requests to make it. I like to slice the rolls and make minis instead of slicing. Slice, flatten, dollop of cream cheese (I add lemon zest) mixture, add a cherry or two, then make the icing a little thin w/ lemon juice and lemon zest and ice by squeezing out of a plastic snack bag with a very small hole cut into one corner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Made for my teenage son who loves cheese danish. He thought it was just great. I made sure to keep dough very cold so that it would be flaky when baked. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This turned out pretty good. Probably not Christmas morning worthy, but good. I spread sugar free strawberry preserves on half. I used light cream cheese and splenda to cut down on calories. Maybe full fat cream cheese would give it the extra star? I will probably make it again and put lines of strawberry preserves on top of the cream cheese mixture as spreading it all around made the top layer slide off very easily- making a very messy pastry. The fam liked it with the preserves better than the plain cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I made these thinking they couldn't possibly be as good as everyone said they were, but I was sooooo wrong! I'm a 'from scratch' baker and dislike using pre-packaged doughs and mixes, but I must say that this recipe came together wonderfully and tastes better than my local grocery-store bakery danishes. The amount of filling was perfect. It seems like a lot at first, but the dough rises in the oven and the filling softens and melts. I added a couple drops of almond extract to the icing, which was the perfect topper. I'm eager to try these with a little raspberry jam in the middle as well. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
OMG! So good!!! Perfect! I made the recipe just as it said, i did add almond extract to the frosting. So amazing! I am going to definitely make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
100000% AMAZING!!!!! I used my own icing recipe that has vanilla and it went well with the danish flavor :) So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmissjenny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States