Easy Cranberry Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I only made one change in the recipe's ingredients--I used chopped pecans in place of the walnuts. I mixed everything together BUT the cranberries. I baked my granola at 250 for an hour, stirring every 15 minutes. When the granola was crisp, I took it out, let it cool and then stirred in the cranberries (The reason I did this was because I've never had luck cooking the raisins/cranberries with the granola. For some reason, they always turn out burned. Now, I just add them after baking). The combination of ingredients in this granola were fantastic--very, VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Fun & easy to make. I've made this a few times already & usually add raisins. Great for healthy snack or homemade cereal. I suggest after baking you spread it on wax paper to allow it to cool & get crunchy. It might stick on pan as it hardens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This recipe was a really good starting point. Instead of rolled oats I used Red Mill 5 grain rolled whole grains. I substituted applesauce for the oil and blackstrap molasses for the honey. I also added a mixture of 1 tablespoon flaxseed (ground) and 3 tablespoons of water, which acts like an egg to bind the ingredients. I did not have any cranberries so I used raisins and for the nuts i used a mix of almonds, pistachios, and walnuts. I also added a sprinkle of nutmeg. Delicious, nutritious, and highly recommended! I will definitely be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I love this granola. I didn't have wheat germ so I ground up some flax seed in my coffee grinder, great replacement and very good for you too. I also cooked it in a 9x13 baking dish with higher sides so it was easier to stir with less chance of spilling. I do think this added some cook time because it wasn't all in a thin layer, but all in all I think I added about 15 extra minutes. A definate staple recipe in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
This was a very easy granola recipe, and it tastes better than any granola I have purchased! I added sunflower seeds since I had some on hand. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I wasn't going to make this because I didn't think there was any way it could be that much better than store-bought granola to make it worth the extra effort. Even right after making it, I was not impressed. But it is really delicious, better than store-bought granola, not to mention the fact that I know exactly what went into it and can always adjust the ingredients as I see fit. Not that I think I will make any adjustments as it was pretty perfect as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was good! I only used about a cup of honey, and it was sweet enough for me. If you like bigger clumps of granola, try pressing it down into the pan before you bake it, and don't stir it while it's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESJESSI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Flavor was good but DO NOT put cranberries in before you cook. They turn out dry and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Parie
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I was very happy with the way this turned out. I've made granola before, but other recipes I've tried took a lot more time and made a big mess. This was really simple and it came out great. I baked it on parchment paper & had no mess at all. I used mostly applesauce with a little coconut oil and added ground flaxseed. This will be the granola recipe I use from now on. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe! I mix different things into it every time! You can adjust the moisture level by reducing the honey so it in later weeks it will be less sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States