Easy Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Used 8 oz crab meat, went lite on onion and heavy on horseradish. Served with various crackers. Extended family of 30+ loved it at Christmas get-to-gather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
The only thing good about this is the crab, if I could taste it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I received compliments on this but was told that it had a very strong onion taste. Perhaps next time I may use less onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I make this for the holidays and it is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
A friend of mine makes this recipe for every get together and it's always a big hit, so I made it for my boyfriends work xmas party and it was gone in less than an hour. I doubled the recipe and they wanted more! However, I did make one change,I only added 1 1/2tbsp total of the horseradish because I'm not a big fan of it. Awesome recipe! I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I had to bring a cold appetizer to a family function so I mosdified this one a bit. I didn't add the coctail sauce on the top. I did make the dip as recipe stated and added 1/4 teaspoon Old Bay, 2 Tablespoons of ketchup for color (otherwise it's a bit grey) and 1/2 red pepper and 1/2 green pepper finely diced for color. Oh, and I used a vadelia onion which made it even more tastey. Served cold with Triscuits and it was a huge hit at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Good base recipe. I agree with some comments about it lacking something, and I added both the horseradish, and a lot of old bay. But it gets you going in the right direction. My wife took the left overs and wrapped them in wonton, fried them in some hot oil for 5 or 10 mins, and served them with a 50/50 mix of hot chili sauce and duck sauce for dipping.....PHENOMINAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
When my husband asked for crab dip I looked at a couple recipies that called for imatation crab meat so I tried it in this recipe and it was great. (Use 1 cup finely chopped in place of the can) I will definalty make again. I may only use 1 tbl of horseradish though. Thanks for a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Thank you for offering this recipe. My family sampled the dip as originally described and mixed this evening, and then offered suggestions, in the process leaving most of the dip for me to eat. The consensus is that crab meat has a subtle flavor. Cocktail sauce, hot sauce, and horseradish sauce easily overwhelm the crab. The result is a spicy, needlessly expensive, cocktail sauce-flavored, cream cheese dip. Celery could have substituted for the crab. Personally, I would never think to spread cocktail sauce over crab meat. I won't again. I plan to revisit the crab dip concept starting with crab meat and cream cheese and then add subtle flavoring. If I find a workable result, I'll post it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I have made this several times and everyone always asks me for the recipe. I go a little easy on the horseradish and sometimes sprinkle some crab meat on top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States