Easy Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Great recipe. I added just a sprinkle of poultry seasoning. Tender, juicy and easy to make. I love slow cooker recipes. Just fix it and forget it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very delicious and tender. I didn't add all of the margarine but it was still very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal D Cobb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
So incredibly easy to make! Served it Superbowl night wth a steamed brocolli/carrot mix (as a healthier alternative to chips, pizza, etc.) Made a few alterations--use a low-sodium chix broth and unsalted butter, but only half of what was recommended. Use freshly squeezed lemon juice and some lemon zest in the seasoning (rub). Cooked on high for 4-hours, ever so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
EXCELLENT just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I made this recipe last weekend with mushroom stuffing. The meat did fall off the bone and the flavor was excellent. The family all loved it. Oh, btw, I also cut the amount of butter almost in half. It still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This is a simple and easy recipe that we all enjoyed. I modified it a bit; cooked a fryer chicken rather than 2 small game hens. I did not add the extra butter on top, but I think next time I would just to make the breasts extra-juicy. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made this exactly as directed and my husband couldn't stop raving! I am normally critical of my own cooking but found it so delicious! I made it with asparagus and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSI3
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This recipe is amazing! I made this for dinner tonight and everyone loved it! I took the advice of another reviewer and broiled it for about 10 minutes to golden up the skin. I did not measure the seasoning because I was on a time limit to prepare, I also added paprika, fines herbs and I used butter instead of margarine. I paired it with butternut risotto, cabbage, various veggies and gravy from the stock. Delicious. I was nicely surprised and will make it a regular in our meal rotation. I also used fresh lemon juice because I had none from concentrate. Thank you for sharing this masterpiece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I substituted the margarine for butter. I also added chicken seasoning to the hens. I put on high for 6 hours. The meat was falling off the bone! So juicy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
easy as can be, meat falls off the bone & pretty good flavor. I was a little confused about how much lemon juice to use based on how this was written, but it all worked out. The biggest issue we had was that the hens do not get a nice color even though they are fully cooked so I took them out of the crock pot put them in a shallow pan & broiled for about 6 min. to get a nice crunch on the skin & good color so they didn't look raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States