Easy Corn Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This could easily be a 5 star if it had more flavor. Sugar, salt, cheese????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Even with the addition of the cayenne pepper this chowder is pretty bland. I added some dill and a handful of crumbled bacon but it was still lacking flavor. It might be better to saute the onions and celery in a little butter rather than boiling them with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I add a large can of chicken, making a Chicken-Corn Chowder. My daughter especially loves this chowder, but it gets a "thumbs up" with everyone. I make it often during the winter - it's a great winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Loved it! I've been looking for a recipe that rivaled the corn chowder they used to serve at a local resturaunt, and this is it. So eay to make, I also used canned potatos so could skip that step. I just threw everything together in one big pot and let it simmer for a while. The only thing I added was a little bit of garlic, and about a cup of sharp cheddar cheese right before I took it off the stove. My fiance loved it. I loved it. I will definately be making this one again, and often. Thanks so much for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This chowder was alright, but I wasn't thrilled. I felt it was lacking something, but I didn't know what to add to it to make it better as I'm not an experienced cook who intuitively knows how to change a recipe. I would try other recipes before making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
We really enjoyed this dish. I popped it in the crockpot with some extra potatoes, left it in for about 4 hours on high. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Awesome. Very high reward to effort ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I used half and half instead of the condensed milk and added 8oz of salt pork, browned in a skillet to this recipe. Froze some for later - rich and tasty for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca S. Roth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This was a good basic recipe, good for the creative cook. It gave me an easy jumping off point to make a corn chowder the way I would like it. I substituted the celery for a red bell pepper, the cayenne for tabsco sauce and added bacon, canned crab and a bag of shredded "mexican style" cheese to thicken it. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Very good! I didn't have red onion, so I used yellow (I think). It came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States