Easy Corn Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Do not overcook the potatoes like I did. I used a can of sweet corn and it made this chowder a bit too sweet for my liking. The evaporated milk make this a little rich. Overall, it wasn't bad. I think if I added a ham hock or smoked ham, it will offset the sweetness and be so much better. Will try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Yummy. Was looking for a recipe to accommodate a diabetic diet. I omitted the potatoes and used quinoa since it cooked in the same time anyways to add more fiber and protein. I didn't use celery, but I did sauté the veggies (shredded carrot, onion, red pepper) with some olive oil before adding water and quinoa. I omitted the salt and added my own seasonings to flavor and it is delicious! Definitely able to doctor it up to your needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
this is my second time making this soup and it just gets easier and easier, my wife and I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Easy and delicious! Made this for Christmas Eve and making it again for New Years Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Awesome. T'was my first time making any type of chowder and it was nice! The recipe is simple and the taste was great! I added carrots and extra potato. I think this recipe is a great base that you can add things to or not and it's just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KadydaCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Cant stop eating it. We added carrots, and a red pepper, other than that followed it to the letter. Threw on some cheese at the end - finished it off perfectly. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I didn't want the extra carbs from the potatoes so I omitted them. But I did add some diced carrot. Super quick and easy to throw together but the flavor itself was just ok for us. Glad I used 1 % evaportaed milk, it was plenty rich. Used chipotle instead of cayenne. Topped with lime tortilla chips. This would be pretty small portions for 6 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Considering that it's a very simple and fast recipe, it was quite good. I made a few changes: -Instead of cayenne pepper, I added a few dashes of Tabasco and a bit of freshly ground black pepper and it worked very well. -I used 2% evaporated milk and while it may have resulted in less creaminess, it was fine and brought down the fat content a lot. -I left the skins on red potatoes to gain some nutritional value and it did not detract from the texture and enhanced the taste. -I used the whole can of cream corn (14.75 oz.) and also added a bit more potatoes. The soup seemed balanced and kept a good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is such a great recipe! I made it twice in one week if that gives you any idea! The only changes I made were that I doubled it, added three tablespoons of chicken boullion powder in place of the salt in the boiling water, and didnt drain afterward. Instead of doubling evaporated milk to two cans, I put in a can and a half since I left in the water that the veggies cooked in. It's so delicious that even my super picky kid loved it. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Delicious and harty! I loved this and it made for great left-overs (that I was, conveniently, able to bring to work for lunch). I tweaked it slightly in that I used one can of creamed celery and instead of evaporated milk, I used a couple blops of sour cream. It was creamy and delicious and I can't wait to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blank

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States