Easy Corn Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
We quite enjoyed this chowder. We made a few adjustments/additions to the recipe (3/4 c. diced celery instead of 1/2, 1/4 tsp. grnd cayenne pepper instead of 1/8 and we added 1 minced clove of garlic and 1/2 c. sharp 'white' cheddar cheese) as recommended by other reviewers which is why we rated it '4' stars instead of '5'. We also made sure to dice small cubes where the potatoes where concerned as suggested by other reviewers as well. Thanks for this recipe CARIBOUR. Cheerio :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly and it was bland. Tried to put in additional paprika and chicken broth but it was still so-so. Thanks anyway but won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This is a good basic recipe, but I wonder about pouring out the stock from the cooked vegetables. I use minimum water and then just add the other ingredients. I don’t want to dump the vitamins and minerals down the drain. I use frozen corn instead of canned whole corn, add a diced carrot and a bit of diced bell pepper as well as a few drops of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
It could have been me, but it just didn't come out right. I followed the recipe exactly and it tasted off to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyhahn1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Galloway, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I loved this soup and it's so easy to make! I sauted the onion with garlic in olive oil then added it to the pot with everything else. I also added a tsp.of chicken bullion, 1 1/4 c. of cubed ham and garlic salt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Very good. Just needs to be a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
SUPER easy! No smoky bacon flavor but delicious all the same. The only thing I did different was after I boiled the veggies, I sauteed them in a little butter to be sure the potatoes had flavor. My hubby LOVED it. I loved that it was easy prep and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Was a little on the bland side, so I increased the cayenne to about 1/4 tsp. Tasty! Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Very tasty chowder. I added 4 slices of cooked bacon....much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This soup is amazing! I took reviewer advice and added the sharp cheddar cheese. It makes it so creamy and adds an extra little kick of taste. I also added extra celery - I have to get veggies into my husband any way I can. We love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States