Easy Corn Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I made this chowder and it turned out really good. I'm not fond of really thick corn chowder so I did not drained the water that the potatoes, onion and celery was cooked in. I also used fat free evaporated milk and it tasted fine. The only thing that was missing was a sprinkle of fresh parsley on top(will have some on hand next time lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This recipe is unbelievable. I have been making Corn Chowder for as long as I can remember, and never did I make it with 7 ingredients plus cayenne if you like. Oddly enough though it tastes the exact same. Sometimes I sprinkle cooked bacon on the top right before I serve it and sometimes I put cooked chicken breast in it to make it a lttle heartier. Either way though, the soup is wonderful, with or without any additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I love this Chowder. I have made it a couple of times now and my family loves it. great for a snowy day or just when you really don't want to spend all day in the kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roan Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Pretty good, simple, quick stew. Although, I went brain dead and bought regular corn instead of creamed and I'm sure that would have bumped this up a little. 4 stars for getting my husband to eat more than one serving of this, which speaks volumes b/c he'd almost rather poke an eyeball out than hear we're having soup for dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Hearty and delicious! Very easy, I also added some diced sweet potato for color, and crumbled bacon, my husband loved it. We will be adding this into the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmetshand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Littlepammie
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I liked it alot. I always do my own thing with recipes but, don't usually rewrite on the review. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Changed this up a little by sauteing celery, onion and a little red pepper for color in butter before adding broth and potatoes. Did not drain broth before adding other ingredients so it was a little thin at first, but thickened up nicely with a little flour. Loved the kick of the cayenne, but other than that just tasted like creamed corn with potatoes to me. Very easy, but probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Delicious! I doubled the recipe and added 2 diced carrots (which I needed to use up) and some diced ham. I sauted the carrots, onions and celery in a bit of olive oil to start with, added the ham and then the rest of the doubled ingrediants. I skipped the water step and added a 3rd can of milk (2 regular and one fat free as I like a lot of broth. I also added one packet of chicken boulion and letter it simmer about 50 minutes. It was so easy to prepare and so absolutely yummy. he cayenne gave it a great spice. Thank you for this recipe-it will be a regular. My teen son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I thought this chowder was really yummy!!! I tweaked it by substituting a can of Cream of Mushroom condensed soup for the evaporated milk and adding garlic powder, Sazon Completa from Badia, a cut up jalapeno (I simmered this with all the vegetables) and canned chicken. I also simmered the vegetables in chicken broth instead of water. I also added about a quarter cup of water to thin it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was absolutely amazing. I doubled up the corn and the milk, but left everything else the same. Served this with some homemade yeast rolls and a side Cesar salad. It was a hit. I've already shared this recipe with one of my friends. Will be one of the new staples for fall/winter cooking. Thanks for sharing with us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by araynady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States