Easy Corn Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Absolutely excellent recipe! The only addition that I made was adding in some chopped carrots. I used 3 small russet potatoes, 2 stalks of celery, 6 baby carrots, and 1/2 of a white onion. I tossed a chicken bullion cube into the water during the boiling phase just to add a little bit of flavor. The veggies softened perfectly by the end of the cooking process. From start to finish, this recipe took about an hour to complete. It's perfect for a quick, cheap, and incredibly satisfying dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sayyosin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Do not overcook the potatoes like I did. I used a can of sweet corn and it made this chowder a bit too sweet for my liking. The evaporated milk make this a little rich. Overall, it wasn't bad. I think if I added a ham hock or smoked ham, it will offset the sweetness and be so much better. Will try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Yummy. Was looking for a recipe to accommodate a diabetic diet. I omitted the potatoes and used quinoa since it cooked in the same time anyways to add more fiber and protein. I didn't use celery, but I did sauté the veggies (shredded carrot, onion, red pepper) with some olive oil before adding water and quinoa. I omitted the salt and added my own seasonings to flavor and it is delicious! Definitely able to doctor it up to your needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
this is my second time making this soup and it just gets easier and easier, my wife and I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Easy and delicious! Made this for Christmas Eve and making it again for New Years Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Awesome. T'was my first time making any type of chowder and it was nice! The recipe is simple and the taste was great! I added carrots and extra potato. I think this recipe is a great base that you can add things to or not and it's just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KadydaCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Cant stop eating it. We added carrots, and a red pepper, other than that followed it to the letter. Threw on some cheese at the end - finished it off perfectly. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I didn't want the extra carbs from the potatoes so I omitted them. But I did add some diced carrot. Super quick and easy to throw together but the flavor itself was just ok for us. Glad I used 1 % evaportaed milk, it was plenty rich. Used chipotle instead of cayenne. Topped with lime tortilla chips. This would be pretty small portions for 6 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Considering that it's a very simple and fast recipe, it was quite good. I made a few changes: -Instead of cayenne pepper, I added a few dashes of Tabasco and a bit of freshly ground black pepper and it worked very well. -I used 2% evaporated milk and while it may have resulted in less creaminess, it was fine and brought down the fat content a lot. -I left the skins on red potatoes to gain some nutritional value and it did not detract from the texture and enhanced the taste. -I used the whole can of cream corn (14.75 oz.) and also added a bit more potatoes. The soup seemed balanced and kept a good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is such a great recipe! I made it twice in one week if that gives you any idea! The only changes I made were that I doubled it, added three tablespoons of chicken boullion powder in place of the salt in the boiling water, and didnt drain afterward. Instead of doubling evaporated milk to two cans, I put in a can and a half since I left in the water that the veggies cooked in. It's so delicious that even my super picky kid loved it. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States