Easy Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Added a little celery and a lot of Cajun seasoning. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is a great recipe. We had to add adjust the amount of milk and flour, but otherwise, it was wonderful. I also added Tony's seasoning to spice it up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
The family really enjoyed this recipie, I was worried because my husband is used to New England chowders, but turned out Yummy! I used olive oil instead of bacon/drippings, and boiled my potatoe. Added more crab as we really wanted the crab flavor to come out. Used the full 1/3 cup of flour and the thickness was perfect, a true chowder. Thankyou for this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantel Beinish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Easy, delicious. Made a few changes based on other reviewers’ suggestions. I used 5 strips maple bacon, and 4 cubed red potatoes (skin on). I microwaved potatoes w/ plastic wrap cover for 3 minutes. In bacon fat, sautéed chopped veggies: 1 red onion, 1 red pepper, 2 celery, and handful of common mushrooms. Added lump crab meat. In soup pot, added: 4 cups chicken broth, 1 can regular corn (drained), the veggie mix, crumbled bacon, along w/ dill, parsley, old bay seasoning, salt/pepper. After heated through, added 1 cup 2% milk and a mixture of 3 TBSP cornstarch/water for slight thickening (some people might like it much thicker than this, just play w/ it 1 TBSP at a time). This is a keeper for me, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Neosho, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was very flavorful. DH & I think it's the best! Will definitely cook it again. Seems like small cups of this would be a great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilacorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakdale, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Delicious, better than the other corn and crab bisques on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly except that I reduced the flour and cooked the potatoes longer based on the suggestions of other users. It was AWESOME! I can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
with 3 T flour and 2 cups milk, this turned out really delicious! I used 8oz backfin crabmeat and would probably spend the money on the lump crabmeat next time, as I ended up with a ton of filaments. Excellent recipe, super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This recipe was delicious with a number of changes. I used Better Than Bouillion instead of the bouillion, and frozen corn instead of creamed can corn. I also added double the milk to make up for not using creamed corn. I steamed the potatoes in a micro steaming bag for 3 mins. The result was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States