Easy Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I have made this recipe twice. More prep than I like. I did not use wine. This soup is very good, high end restaurant quality. Not fishy at all. Add fish sauce for a more fishy flavor. Would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I really liked this, I left out the wine and crab meat. It was awesome. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I did read the other reviews and cut back the flour to less than 1/4 cup, I did add the 1/4 wine. I also shredded carrots and celery into the milk/bouillon. We tend to really watch our sodium, and this did have alot of sodium. I used 1% milk, and low sodium bouillon. I did not add any salt, but put in a few shakes of tabasco. It was excellent and it did not make any difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Very tasty, perfect for a cold night! I did thin it down with some half-and-half, but it's still plenty thick and creamy. I had to adjust the seasonings quite a bit, but that's just my personal taste. Thanks very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Although the final product was tasty and edible with alterations I thought the author never made the soup. First the potatoes burn and are not fully cooked using the recipe method. Second the bouillon I used does not dissolve unless it is heated. Third there is not enough liquid in the recipe so it was beyond thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
INSTEAD OF FLOUR I USE INSTANT POTATO BUDS TO THICKEN TO MY TASTE, I ALSO COARSE CHOP 2 CARROTS,,2 CELERY STALKS ,AND SAUTE THEM WITH THE ONION.I USE FRESH OR FROZEN CORN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Was A-MA-ZING! Forgive changes but used what I had on hand then modified based on reviews. Like the one pot idea so sauteed 2 onions with butter. Once onions clear, added 3 cloves minced garlic and bacon bits (no raw bacon on hand) enough to cover onions plus dry dill powder and salt to taste. Gave 5 min to meld together, then sprinkled flour in batches to make roux. Used 3 cans crab meat and 3 cans corn- fyi reserved all liquid from cans to use as my liquid instead of wine. (Didn't put corn and crab in til end though). Once all flour incorporated, added my crab-corn liquid, which I heated up in microwave and dissolved 3 bouillon cubes in. Poured liquid into flour mixture, then one can evaporated milk. Let flavors meld 5 min. Then checked if needed extra liquid, which it did, and added milk as needed. Another 5 min for milk to mix. Once I liked the flavor of the base, I added a dash of cayenne for kick, then cubed red potatoes (cooked in microwave for 5 min to be al dente). After adding potatoes, give 10 min for potatoes to release their starch and absorb liquid. At that point adjust liquid. Once adjusted, add all crab, cover with blanket of dill powder, add corn, cover with dill powder, fold in gently, give 5 min. This quantity made enough to feed 12 servings so served one meal and batch froze another for a cold day! Hey, if you're gonna go through the work, why not make 2 meals' worth in one pot! My freezer is looking pretty tasty right now! And one bowl was super filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This tastes wonderful; the proportions are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Bam! Delicious. I'm making it again today. The instructions are skewed, indeed, but if you can figure your way through it, the combination of ingredients is a winner and the name of this dish is right on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I made this recipe on the weekend using fresh crab, it was amazing. I added the curry and it was very tasty, could not imagine it without the curry. Next time I make it, I will try using milk and coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States