Easy Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
First of all, I used all the flour & thought it was fine that way. I guess I expect a chowder to be thick and not like a soup. I've made it twice and did it the same both times. Good flavor. But I have issues with the recipe itself. Potatoes do NOT get done in 30 seconds in a microwave. And they need stirred. Next time I'll just boil them in water as it seems easier. And I can use the same pan I make the chowder in. Speaking of which, this is also a waste of pans. I cooked the bacon in the same pan & just set it aside on a plate. (Easier to wash than another pan. And extra bacon grease can be wiped out easily enough before moving on.) So same pan all the way through and much easier to deal with. And bouillon cubes don't really dissolve in cold milk that easily. Easier to use the grandule kind and dump in w/everything else & it'll dissolve fine. I think the end results are well worth it, but it's *not* a last-minute supper as one person said. Too many steps involved. The taste got a 4 but I dumped it to a 3 due to the convoluted recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
This is a good recipe but it takes awhile to prepare. Also, I had to start over because 1/3 cup is too much flour! I reduced it to two tablespoons flour to two tablespoons butter and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Delicious.....but I did make some adjustments. I wanted a big pot of soup....I cooked turkey bacon in evoo, removed and set aside. In the same pot I sauteed onion, celery, diced red pepper, and cubed baby reds (about 4),salt and pepper for about 5-7 minutes. I added some flour and added 4 c. fat free chix broth and let that simmer until taters were tender. I added about 1c. frozen white corn, and 2c. fat free half and half, old bay seasoning and 4 cans of crab meat. Let that simmer and I did use a little cornstarch and water to thicken a little more. I like a thick chowder. Very tasty, great on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
We LOVED this!!! I made a double recipe for my family and there was nothing left. We used leftover snow crab legs (peeled, of course). Ease off on the flour... it will be too thick, almost like a dip. We also added a bag of frozen peeled shrimp in the last 5 minutes of cooking. I also added Tony's seasoning and green onions in the last 5 minutes for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
I thought this chowder was terrific. I agree with the previous reviewer who said there was too much flour, but I added more butter--4 tablespoons. I think it wants to be that thick, although you'll probably end up adding more milk. I also added 1/2 cup of chopped celery to the onions and bacon and a pinch of cayenne because I thought it needed a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
this soup tasted like paste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Very good! I too changed the amount of flour to 3 tbsp, and I still had to thin it a bit. I added Old Bay, used fresh parsley (all I had), and when I make it next time, will saute in garlic along with the onions. Thanks for the recipe and for all of the great tips from other reviwers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This recipe was great. I followed everything EXACTLY except that I doubled everything except the flour and still had to thin it a little with more milk. I love that it's a creamy soup I can make with my regular 1% milk instead of half and half or heavy cream. My whole family loved it. I served it with Tabasco sauce on the side because I really like a little kick and it was great both with and without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This was a tasty chowder! Because my husband and I don't eat meat, I sauteed the onions in olive oil instead of the bacon fat. I also substitued about 1 tsp. of Vegebase for the chicken bouillon (fyi, I increased the recipe to make 8 servings). As for most of the other reviewers, the chowder was WAY too thick even though I reduced the flour to 1/2 C. To thin out the chowder, I added about 1 C. of No-Chicken Broth. I will definitely make this again. I might even consider adding some more crab next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeruleanGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Wow. It was great. I actually added all the flour because I wanted it to be like chowder, and not like soup, and it turned out great. I added chicken & garlic and it tasted great... my husband loved it. I made it ahead and put in the crock pot. One thing I would suggest is cooking the potatoes longer before adding them. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfish1282

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States