Easy Corn and Crab Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I microwaved, then sauteed potato in some of the rendered bacon fat. I used shallots instead of onion and used a can of low fat evaporated milk (which I always use in chowders...gives it a velvety texture) for the white wine I used the vermouth. I thought this recipe was good but could use something seasoning-wise maybe a little tarragon would work. I would make this again, but definitely the cooking process could be streamlined and the seasonings adjusted. To make the roux, I only used equal amounts of butter/flour and the next day I had to thin with milk. I think this chowder is best the next day. I like my chowder on the thinner side. The word chowder refers to a soup made with fatback, bacon, salt port and doesn't refer actually to thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maine Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
My family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Added a little celery and a lot of Cajun seasoning. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is a great recipe. We had to add adjust the amount of milk and flour, but otherwise, it was wonderful. I also added Tony's seasoning to spice it up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
The family really enjoyed this recipie, I was worried because my husband is used to New England chowders, but turned out Yummy! I used olive oil instead of bacon/drippings, and boiled my potatoe. Added more crab as we really wanted the crab flavor to come out. Used the full 1/3 cup of flour and the thickness was perfect, a true chowder. Thankyou for this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantel Beinish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Easy, delicious. Made a few changes based on other reviewers’ suggestions. I used 5 strips maple bacon, and 4 cubed red potatoes (skin on). I microwaved potatoes w/ plastic wrap cover for 3 minutes. In bacon fat, sautéed chopped veggies: 1 red onion, 1 red pepper, 2 celery, and handful of common mushrooms. Added lump crab meat. In soup pot, added: 4 cups chicken broth, 1 can regular corn (drained), the veggie mix, crumbled bacon, along w/ dill, parsley, old bay seasoning, salt/pepper. After heated through, added 1 cup 2% milk and a mixture of 3 TBSP cornstarch/water for slight thickening (some people might like it much thicker than this, just play w/ it 1 TBSP at a time). This is a keeper for me, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Neosho, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was very flavorful. DH & I think it's the best! Will definitely cook it again. Seems like small cups of this would be a great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilacorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakdale, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Delicious, better than the other corn and crab bisques on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly except that I reduced the flour and cooked the potatoes longer based on the suggestions of other users. It was AWESOME! I can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
with 3 T flour and 2 cups milk, this turned out really delicious! I used 8oz backfin crabmeat and would probably spend the money on the lump crabmeat next time, as I ended up with a ton of filaments. Excellent recipe, super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States