Easy Coq Au Vin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mmcsusn
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Good solid starting point. I added pearl onions and chopped mushrooms and used bacon grease instead of oil to brown the chicken, put in a pat of butter to give the chicken a nice brown color. I served it over pureed cooked cauliflower and roasted brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmcsusn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I don't know how to add a recipe here, but my take is: bacon 1/2lb cut up...shallots/garlic..salt/pepper..white wine (doesnt turn it colour..chicken stock..thyme...rosemary...butter/flour to thicken later...mushrooms optional crisp bacon, then remove leaving fat, brown chicken a few moments both sides, add garlic and shallots to lightly cook, return bacon, cover chicken with wine & chicken (I add about half a bottle white wine first and let it simmer a bit then add the chicken stock) add rosemary thyme to taste - I usually do a couple pinches. Cook low heat covered. About 10 minutes before it's done I taste broth for flavour, usually at this time adding more thyme. In a separate pot add 2tabl butter and flour to pot add some stock it will thicken quick then add back to coq au vin for a nice gravy. cook cover a few more moments Excellent with mash potatoes as the gravy is soooo good you will want to eat it as a soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Great easy recipe. I will go with all dark meat chicken next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I made this, and enjoyed it, but it was difficult to get the sauce to thicken properly. I liked the red colour, unlike a lot of other people here, and I served it over rice. It was delicious, but a lot of work, and I don't think I would make it again anytime soon. Maybe once or twice a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
My wife and I loved this recipe, it keeps the dish simple and in line with the traditional Coq au Vin. I made a few changes following Baricot's excellent critique. I prefer chicken thighs, they fit perfectly in the pan and the dark meat complements the wine. I used Cabernet. Thighs take a while to cook, I simmered them for 40 minutes rather than 30. The additional time allows the wine to permeate the meat better. I sauteed the garlic cloves and the onion in the chicken drippings, this integrates the onion and garlic flavor better with the sauce.I did not pour off the chicken drippings so as to improve the flavor of the sauce I also added thyme and a l/8 tsp of celery seed After simmering and removing the chicken, I reduced the liquid for 10 minutes. The resulting liquid had a bite to it from the cabernet, I added 3 oz of tomato sauce and half a can of condensed cream of celery soup.the tomato paste balanced the wine flavor and removed the bite. the cream of celery soup made the sauce creamier and added celery flavor. I whisked the gravy for 10 minutes and slowly added a small amount of cornstarch to thicken. Added canned mushrooms at the end, portabellos or fresh mushrooms would have been better. the trick to this dish is to be patient with the sauce and spend some time reducing and whisking. the result was so good one would be pleased to be served it at a 4 star restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Loved it. Used Baricat's tips and used boneless breasts, and served it over jasmine rice. Excellent! This is my first attempt at coq au vin, and I was surprised how easy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaghticoke, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was amazing! I made some minor changes just because that's how I roll. My wife gave this 108 out of 10 stars lol. So, I used thighs with the skin on - I cooked a few strips of bacon and then browned the chicken in the bacon fat. I also cooked the onions in the fat for a few minutes, too. I added about 1/2 t thyme with the wine and stock. I also added a few tablespoons of tomato sauce to tone down the purple color and add a little zing. After cooking the chicken in the liquid, I removed it and cooked down the sauce a little. I wanted it even thicker so I added a touch of corn starch to a splash of wine, mixed it and dumped it in to thicken it a touch more. I removed and discarded the skin from the chicken after cooking, shredded the chicken a bit and served this with mashed potatoes. I crumbled the little bit of bacon that I used for rendering the fat over top and it was fabulous. Give this recipe a try. The people that gave it bad reviews are probably folks who didn't reduce the sauce or used white meat chicken and let it dry out. Use dark meat with the skin and remove it after cooking!! Adds so much flavor and moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugal-Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I love the tastes in Coq Au Vin but not all the trouble, so I loved finding this recipe, which I use as a base for my variations. I generally use skinless, boneless thighs with excessive fat cut off; I dredge through flour and salt; I use a shallot rather than an onion; I cut up a couple strips of pre-cooked bacon (which has most of the fat already cooked off) and add once the chicken is mostly browned; I use jarred chicken stock so I can adjust taste tsp by tsp; I delete the cornstarch and garlic powder; I throw in a pinch of herbes de provence instead; I use more water and less wine; I add a can of petite diced tomatoes to pump up taste and make the color palatable to my picky kids. If it's still purple and I want them to eat it -- I hate to admit this -- I add a little ketchup. Doesn't hurt the taste but it does help make it look more red for them. Finally, I add sliced mushrooms. Also, I just pour the wine straight into the pan. I know this is a lot of changes but I was floundering until I found this base recipe so thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I made this recipe with the modifications suggested by a previous reviewer, and it is amazingly delicious. I think even without that it would have been a tasty dish, however. The fresh garlic etc just pushed i over the top into gourmet territory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Love it! I've made a few tweaks, such as using whole chicken breast tenderloins instead of shredding the meat, and I usually add extra veggies as well, but on the whole, an easy & delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States