Easy Coq Au Vin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
A respectable jumping-off point - a good premise, but needs work. Here's what to do to improve it: If you are aiming at a fresh taste more reminiscent of the original, then throw out the garlic powder (To save time, mash/mince a whole head when you have time, stir a Tb or two of olive oil into them, and store in a small jar in the fridge. 1 clove=about 1/2 tsp) After browning the chicken pieces, put them on a plate while you saute 1-2 cloves (depending on size) of mashed garlic. Return the chicken to the skillet and proceed as written. Be sure to add about 1/8 tsp thyme, which is authentic in the native French dish. Also, adding about 1 Tb tomato paste along with the wine and stock will 1) tone down the purple color imparted by the wine, making the sauce a more appetizing chestnut color, and 2) round out the flavor of the sauce. BTW, may be done with boneless breasts, but don't cook the chicken in the sauce the entire time, as if you cook pre-sauteed boneless breasts in liquid for 30 minutes, they will be dry and tasteless from overcooking. After you saute them, put aside and simply add them to the sauce the last 5-10 minutes of simmering. The meat will be juicy and incomparably flavorful. These changes will result in not only an easy version of the classic dish closer to the original, but also a better flavor with greater eye appeal. Real coq au vin features a pearl onion garnish and mushrooms, either of which can be easily added at the end to this recipe if you like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Coq Au Vin is a very good recipe. It does surprise me though that several of the reviewers were either put off or least surprised by the purple color that the wine gave the chicken. When using red wine,What other color were you expecting?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I tend to be turned off to chicken dishes because I find they often end up bland and flavorless. This recipe, on the other hand, was delicious! I was shocked to like a chicken dish so much! Definitely use chicken with skin to really soak up the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Very tasty and easy recipe. Great for 2 person dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This was pretty good, and did impress my French hubby. It was worth the time, and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
I thought this looked great but it didn't go over real well in my house. I think I would substitute shallots for the onions for a more authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
It was really good, fast and easy! Since I only had drumsticks, I baked them for 20 minutes at 375ºF before starting the recipe to make sure they would be fully cooked. I also added some paprika, dried basil and some cajun spices to the salt, pepper and garlic powder. Delicious :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
My wife loved this recipe. The gravey didn't turn out for me, but I think that was my fault. I will have to make a few measurement adjustments before I make it again, but I would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Great recipe! I'm new to cooking and my husband and I both loved it! Very easy to make and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I feel the need to come to the rescue of this recipe. First of all the "bland" flavor is the nature of the cooking method. When you are braising a whole chicken in large quantities of any liquid, even wine - you will never have an intense flavor. The intensity you might crave can come from the reduction of the cooking liquids into a demiglase. Reduce that and you have a beautiful sauce to serve over the coq au vin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States