Easy Coq Au Vin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This dish was very disapointing I should have read reveiws before trying it was so bland and flat tasting I expected more and dont want to waste any more wine experimenting. This was not up to par for ALL RECIPE to suggest Sincerely CHEF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Coq Au Vin is a very good recipe. It does surprise me though that several of the reviewers were either put off or least surprised by the purple color that the wine gave the chicken. When using red wine,What other color were you expecting?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
You know....when your son says "Mommy, do I have to eat the purple chicken"..something is not right. Granted, I could have just screwed up the recipe. I did add a few of my own touches..but they aren't even worth repeating since we all ended up laughing at the food instead of eating it. I don't recomend this recipe at all. Once again...perhaps if follow the instructions EXACTLY..it might work out. I give this recipe 3 stars not for flavor or apperance but for the 3 people that laughed until they cried when I brought it to the table. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I tend to be turned off to chicken dishes because I find they often end up bland and flavorless. This recipe, on the other hand, was delicious! I was shocked to like a chicken dish so much! Definitely use chicken with skin to really soak up the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
This was a quick and easy recipe. I cut the recipe in half and used 5 skinless chicken legs. It smelled great and tasted great but I found that there was hardly any gravy at the end and it was really thick and gooey looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
we were looking for a meal that a man from france made for us. this was close, but not nearly as flavorful. I think the author might make it easier for the reader if it said what type of red wine is best. i used a table wine.. i might try it again with melot or something with more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Next time I'd use skinless boneless chicken breast for this recipe. I found that the skin pulled away from the meat...didn't look appealing. But otherwise very tasty. Angela - Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHIMMERODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
We thought this was pretty good. The color, although different, made our dinner table look pretty. Can't say I'd make this often but I would make it again for a change in dinner menus. Thank you Marlise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Great recipe! I'm new to cooking and my husband and I both loved it! Very easy to make and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
My Husband and I loved this recipe, I think the color is wonderful, makes it picture perfect.I am keeping this one on file and will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States