Easy Coq Au Vin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Good Stuff. We enjoyed this very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
need to use a pinot not a beaujolais. family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I used this as a great base recipe. As is, it -can- be bland. The changes I made were...First I made the wine and stock into a marinade with 1 1/2 cups of Burgundy wine, 1 3/4 cups of chicken stock, 3 cloves sliced garlic(not crushed, thinly sliced), 2 bay leaves, and Italian seasoning, garlic powder, salt and pepper. I marinated the chicken in the wine and stock mixture for 2 hours prior to cooking. I sliced the onion into half moons and sauteed them, setting them aside in a bowl. I dried the chicken on white paper towels before searing them in the large skillet I sauteed the onions in, reserving the marinade. I returned the onions to the pan after searing both sides of the chicken well, approx 8 minutes a side. I then poured in the wine/stock marinade and simmered it until it reduced to half than added the corn starch and water. I served it over white rice, with a small bowl of garlic, salt and pepper as extra seasoning, if needed. It was needed, but not much. The extra time marinating made the chicken super juicy, and, though my fiance is not a "fancy" man, he absolutely loved it. Thanks for a basic recipe that has room to grow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mastic Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I feel the need to come to the rescue of this recipe. First of all the "bland" flavor is the nature of the cooking method. When you are braising a whole chicken in large quantities of any liquid, even wine - you will never have an intense flavor. The intensity you might crave can come from the reduction of the cooking liquids into a demiglase. Reduce that and you have a beautiful sauce to serve over the coq au vin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Everyone keeps saying how the dish is bland - I say just add a bit more garlic salt and chicken stock to the mix and it was extremely flavorful if you ask me. If you're soaking chicken in wine - what color do you expect it to turn except purple?? Anyhow, this is one of the best chicken recipe I've ever tasted. We added extra seasonings to the first "browning of the chicken", and although the sauce turns out a bit thin, it tastes delicious and makes the chicken very juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I followed the recipe as best I could. It turned out pretty good. It was a little bland in taste, but it was still good for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This was an easy recipe but I found it to be a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I used boneless skinless chicken breast and it turned out very nice. My picky husband ate it and gave it his stamp of approval to make again. I was afraid he wouldn't eat it because of the purple color but as he said it definitely tastes better than it looks. Next time I'll probably add some different seasonings and use less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
We used frozen chicken breasts so it was fast and incredibly delicious!! Thanks for a great recipe with easy ingredients that we had on hand anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I have served Coq a Vin to my customers in the past and although, this is not traditionally how I have done it. This seems ok. Of course, it was a process to make this dish, but it always turned out fantastic. Rather than just dip the chicken in the red wine, I browned the bird, put in a roasting pan with the wine, chicken stock, thyme, onions, carrots and celery and then braised the parts for an hour or so, the chicken would literally leap off the bone. Take the chicken out of the pan, strain the red wine and reduce it to a sauce. Old world Coq a Vin. Naturally, the chicken is going to turn purple, but this is truly a fantastic dish is done correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States