Easy Coq Au Vin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This is quite an easy and convenient take on the traditional recipe. Perhaps I cooked it longer than others, but my chicken did not come out purple. I added more chicken stock as the sauce got a bit too thick even without using a thickening agent. I used a lot of salt, pepper, dried basil, and fresh chopped parsley with I believe was key to adding flavor. I will try this recipe with mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Very good, easy version of the traditional recipe. My husband and I enjoyed it, but it did not reheat very well the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I followed the recipe to a tee. Be sure to make sure the chicken is av even thickness throughout - I pounded the chicken until it was about 1/4 inch thick to ensure an even cooking. The wine you use makes all the difference. I tend to prefer sweeter red wines, and therefor my Coq Au Vin resulted in a sweeter taste, as opposed to a red wine that is dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
when i made it gave a nice peppery punch to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This recipe wasn’t bad. I felt that the amount of wine used should have been at least doubled in order to have enough sauce. Also, the recipe “as-is” lacked flavor and could have used some additional seasoning. However, if the chicken would have had more wine to cook in, the wine would have imparted more flavor to the dish and the lack of taste would no longer be an issue. As a starter recipe, this is fine, but dressing it up a bit doesn’t hurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I made this a while back but forgot to rate it. It was very good and impressed my guests. The chicken didn't turn purple-maybe because I used wings? I have made it several times and it has always turned out great. It's especially good when the sauce is mixed in with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
VERY tasty! I realized after I started cooking in the cast iron skillet that we had no lid, so I made one of tin foil. It seemed to work fine but my husband thought the chicken dried out a little. Make sure you have a cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
So delicious and easy! I serve with a baked potato or egg noodles and I feel like I'm eating a gourmet meal during the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
my whole family loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Loved the recipe! I made a few changes...first I cooked in a pot, used frozen thighs, didn't use the stock b/c I didnt have any. Very good and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States