Easy Coq Au Vin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Love it! I've made a few tweaks, such as using whole chicken breast tenderloins instead of shredding the meat, and I usually add extra veggies as well, but on the whole, an easy & delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Was very good the way I made it. I used a pack of 6 chicken wings, added 1/4 tsp thyme and 2 tsp fresh minced garlic, and used 2/3 cups red cooking wine and 1 1/3 cups chicken broth, instead of 1 1/2 cups wine & stock. Cooked in a medium sized pot. Came out very tender and flavorful, but only feeds 2-3. Maybe will try next time with drumsticks or thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cazza
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Very good recipe! Came out very rich and tasty - I added bacon & fresh thyme & used lots of shallots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Loved this recipe! I've made traditional coq au vin and this definitely rivals it. I did add about 3 cloves of garlic to the oil when browning the chicken and increased the amount of wine and stock for more sauce. Even my picky daughter gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmlvy75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was amazingly easy AND amazingly delicious. I made it for a French themed dinner party and everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars because it was so easy to make and very tasty. But I think it was so good because of the changes I made, as follows: Added more liquid than called for so that at the end, instead of using corn starch or flour, I reduced the liquid down. And I doubled the onions. Also, I used some of Trader Joe's 21 Seasoning Salute and Heinz 57 sauce (which added a lot of zip and nice color). All in all, a very good dish and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Encino, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
the flavor on this was just the best. it was quick and easy to make. i almost didnt bother making the sauce at the end but its really what makes this dish great. i added 4-6 times more onion and that was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Easy and delicious French recipe! I had been craving this dish since I recently ate it at a restaurant. I didn't think that it would come close, but it was actually quite tasty. I only had four chicken thighs on hand, but I added two small red bliss potatoes, two carrots, two garlic cloves, and some thyme. I also cooked the dish for over an hour on the stove to let it really soak up all the flavors. The house smelled so good! I will definitely try this one again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
easy. I used marsala wine and fresh basil. found it to be very tasty. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Harvey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
The dark meat chicken pieces were better while the white meat was on the dry side. Browned some bacon before browning the chicken, used fresh garlic, added some tomato paste and a couple sprigs of thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coq Au Vin

A classic braised chicken dish with bacon, mushrooms, and red wine.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States