Easy Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I tried the 1st batch as directed-and I ended up with cookies that had spread over the whole pan. The 2nd batch, I omitted the cornstarch, replaced 1/4 c of sugar with icing sugar (confectioners) and added 2tbsp of flour. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLLEEZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
I made a double batch of these. I did drizzle them with chocolate. It adds a really snazzy touch to them. My first batch I followed the directions. I found that greasing and starching the cookie sheet DID NOT work. They were difficult to remove and frustrating. The second batch I used parchment paper which worked wonderfully. Whoever invented parchment paper deserves a scratch and sniff sticker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I found these sweets quick and easy to make. They would add an old fashioned touch of elegance to any tray of goodies. I used parchment to line my cookie sheet, and had no trouble with sticking, but I slightly under-baked the first sheet and they ended up too soft. Just make sure the edges are golden and they should be fine. Also, they spread our alot! I thought I was making pretty small drops, until they came out! They were about four times larger in diameter! All in all, very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Like most others, I got coconut patties. Not sure where I went wrong, I followed the recipe.. I beat the bejesus out of the egg whites, and as soon as I added sugar (even the first spoonful) it went flat. Anyone who claims they didn't get a unicookie is simply lying. I whipped the eggs until they peaked like Mt. Everest, and then the sugar flattened them out like Kansas. This recipe is a good way to lower your self esteem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Excellent! I flollowed the advice of others and replaced the cornstarch with 1/4 cup flour. They were cripsy on the outside and soft in the center. I would recomend doubling the batch because one is not nearly enough:) I made half of them with chocolate chips and coco. Mmmmm chocolate:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
We loved these cookies! 'Perfection'. I didn't have any trouble at all getting them off the cookie sheet like others have reported, I used just baking spray. I mixed in 1/4 C. flour instead of the small amount of cornstarch. I also did not use any chocolate, but they were great anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1olygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PinkGingham
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I think there's something wrong with this recipe... mine turned out runny, flat, and really weird. I added a photo of how they turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I thought these were super easy to make and tasted great. They are very sweet, but that is how i like cookies. I made a double recipe using half splenda and half sugar. My cookies did not stick to the pans, i guess that has happened to other reviewers. I did grease the pans and coat with cornstarch and they came right off with a spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
I rated a little low on the kid friendliness just because I'm not sure many kids like coconut. These are wonderful tasting and very easy. I omit the chocolate and add a little almond extract for variety. I have also made these with Splenda and can't tell the difference from regular sugar. You don't have to know how to cook to make these great cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
With just a few adjustments, these came out really good! I added 1/4 cup flour, 1/2 teaspoon almond extract and 1 teaspoon vanilla. I added a little water (maybe 2 tablespoons) to make them gooey enough to stick together. I sprayed my cookie sheets and they didn't stick (or spread.) I didn't do the chocolate. Very easy and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States