Easy Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
2 stars only for the good taste, the look is pretty emberessing. Good thing it didnt waste much ingrediets. Well I changed the recipe as others suggested, used powdered sugar as it already has starch. Istead of starch I used 2 tbsp of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I love this recipe. It's fast and easy which I love! Instead of the cornstarch, I used flour. I doubled the amount of flour and instead of chocolate, added about two teaspoons of lemon juice and they turned out great. I also didn't have any issues with the cookies sticking to the cookie sheet, I just used cooking spray. The only down side is I didn't double the recipe, which I definitely will be doing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Followed directions to the letter and the cookies were flat as a pancake in no time. Don't waste the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tplato
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Very easy, and pretty tasty. Like others, I substituted the cornstarch for a half cup flour. They turned out pretty well - I've added pictures to prove it to the reviewer calling us liars (the pics on a cooling rack). Have no idea why others had problems. I used finely shredded coconut. The egg should just provide enough moisture to pull the dough together; not so liquid that they run all over the cookie sheet. Upon cooking they spread a bit, just like any cookie. I used parchment paper the first time i made them but didnt have any the second time - you definitely need it. If you are beating your egg whites you're doing it wrong - read the directions. i think the smaller the cookie, the better they tend to hold their shape, so if you're having problems try making them smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I felt compelled to write a review of these easy and fast cookies. I read the negative reviews before I made these cookies and I was concerned they might not turn out ok. But I wanted to try it because I'm avoiding flour and milk for a few weeks. I followed the recipe almost exactly only making a small change using less sugar (1/3c) and they turned out perfectly. They had a great texture and kept their shape. In trying to figure out why so many people had trouble during the baking process I wondered if people might be using sweetened coconut flakes which might throw off the texture. I used unsweetened from the health food store and they are very dry. Just a thought. Using the parchment paper also makes fast cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Recipe works fine if you use a finer shred coconut. That's the only thing I can think of as to why others couldn't get the recipe to work. These came out great for me, and I hardly ever bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
These macaroons started out good, but when I put them on the pan the liquid parts spread across the whole pan. It ended up with very flat coconut disks with a crunchy film all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I made a few changes and these turned out fantastic! Changes: replaced 1/4 c. white sugar with confectioner's sugar, omitted cornstarch, added 4 tbls flour, 1/2 tsp vanilla and 6 tbls ground almonds. I loosened the cookies with a spatula as soon as I took them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Extremely easy and tasty way to use up that bag of flaked coconut that's been sitting in the fridge forever. Next batch I may skip the chocolate...they're great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was a good recipe with a few twists. Doubled recipe, added 1/2 c. flour, 3 eggs, 1 t. vanilla and almond extract. Very good. I noticed if you take macaroons out of pan as soon as you take out of oven makes for easier removal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hakalau, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States