Easy Clotted Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
while this may not be actual clotted cream, it is a simple, pleasant alternative. We have fun tea parties in our family, with everyone (adults too) dressing up and enjoying some girly time. This is an easy topping to add to our homemade scones that does not take too much time away from the fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I agree with Trusty754. This is absolutely NOT clotted cream. Clotted cream is made with unpasturized milk, not easily available in the US. And, it is NOT sweet. An accceptable alternative is to cook 2 cups heavy cream in top of double boiler over simmering water until reduced by half. It will be the consistency of butter, with a crust on top. Pour all, including crust into a bowl, cover and let stand 2 hours. Then, refrigerate 12 hours or more. Stir crust into the cream before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
367 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This is not clotted cream and certainly should not be called that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
this recipe was almost too easy. I found that it was just a touch to tangy for our tastes and added extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
This went well w/ Apple Shortbread Pie. The slight tart and sweet married well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This is not clotted cream. This is Whipped Cream. Clotted cream is cream thickened by separating the curd from the whey. I like this as whipped cream but suggest adding brown and powder sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
I've never had clotted cream before so I was not sure what it was supposed to taste like. I ate it with Grandma Johnsons Scone recipe... and it was okay. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I have made this recipe several times, and with each making I loved it. I have however tweaked it somewhat. The first time I followed the instructions to the letter and found it tasty but not as firm as the clotted cream I had in London.. So the second time I made it I seperated the sour cream. (Dump your sour cream in a strainer lined with cheese cloth or a coffee filter, cover with plastic wrap – so that it touches the sour cream – place over a bowl and refrigerate overnight.) This second attempt was perfect. However when I made it last week a disaster 5 minutes before company came (my whipped cream got coffee grounds dumped on it) forced me to use --- yes you guessed it…. Cool Whip. I must confess I liked this version the best. I’m so ashamed and plan to never tell my mother that I used Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
This was very good, very light. Served it with scones and jam. Everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States