Easy Cinnamon Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Sinfully delicious! The cinnamon adds a wonderful flavor, and the chopped walnuts made it perfect. I doubled the recipe and used the 8x8 dish to make it thicker; then cut it in 1” squares. In doubling the recipe I used the whole 2# bag of confectioners’ sugar and did not measure. A note about the troubles others may have had: When it says butter don’t use margarine or spread; milk means “vitamin D” milk, not 2% or skim; and *always* sift confectioners’ sugar unless a recipe explicitly states “unsifted”, then resift with the cocoa and cinnamon. Both the confectioners’ sugar and cocoa tend to lump.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
If you use real butter, good vanilla, and sift the dry ingredients (measure the sugar before sifting), there is no problem with either the flavor or consistency. This couldn't be any easier, since it isn't cooked....if you don't like the consistency *add more powdered sugar*!! It does make a very small quantity so double the recipe for an 8" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is not a boiled fudge, therefore it doesn't have the same quality, but it doesn't mean it's not yummy. I put a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon (because I love the stuff!) and no nuts as I didn't have any. I am making it again to take to work this week (it was a hit at my craft club!). I took a shortcut, I microwaved the butter and then added the milk to it, I use skim milk powder to make my milk, and used a wee bit more powder than what is required for 1/4 cup of milk. I sifted all my ingredients in a bowl, mixed them gently, and then added butter/milk mixture to the dry ingredients and stirred with a wooden spoon until all was homogenous. I then poured it in a baking paper lined bread tin, so I had a nice thick fudge (as opposed to more pieces and thinner) which I cut in about 1/2 in. squares. This recipe's a keeper!! (wonder what it would taste like with different spices instead of cinnamon!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by France

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Sorry this is a bit long... I had a fight with myself over the rating for this one. It didn't set for me, even after putting it in the freezer. After sitting for a few days in the fridge it got as far as not being runny but still never set -- no way I could cut it. However, without thinking, I used lower fat margarine and thought perhaps that was the problem, but I see that a few others had this same problem. Perhaps it needs real butter and some people don't use it? I also thought it a bit too sweet, even for fudge. But, the flavor was fabulous -- I'm not a big fudge fan and have never made it but was curious what cinnamon fudge would be like. Since it didn't set right, I just occasionally grab a spoonful. :-) IF I decide to try it again I will use real butter and see what happens. As for a few comments I saw about the sugar not disolving -- I had no problems with this. I *always* sift confectioners' sugar -- maybe the recipe should explicitly state to do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
After reading all the mixed reviews I played around with the recipe just a tad. I added extra con. sugar until it thickened up nicely ( as in the recipe for the vegan fudge if anyone has used it) We like our fudge a but more on the gritty side vs. the creamy side. I did add a larger amount of cinnamon since it is titled "cinnamon fudge" =) I literally just made it and it's now in the fridge. Will have to do a follow up on it later since I made it for our party this evening. Right now the 4 stars are for ease of making the fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
absolutely horrible, i will not make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJENN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
A bit hard to get the confectioner's sugar to completely dissolve. Either sift it first or use a hand mixer. It still tasted great however - and I did use a full teaspoon of china cassia cinnamon. Very tasty - I'd make it agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
Very easy to make. Also, tastes great. Quick, except you have to wait an hour for it to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This was an easy, quick and really good fudge. It has a smooth, light cinnamon taste. It's not quite as good as conventional fudge using condensed milk but it was second best. I will make it again for sure. This recipe doesn't make a lot of fudge, I would probably double it next time. I used a whisk to mix it together to eliminate any lumps. It also needs to stay refrigerated, as it gets super soft when it stays out for more than an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong but I could not get the fudge to solidify, it was more like icing than fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States