Easy Cinnamon Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is not a boiled fudge, therefore it doesn't have the same quality, but it doesn't mean it's not yummy. I put a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon (because I love the stuff!) and no nuts as I didn't have any. I am making it again to take to work this week (it was a hit at my craft club!). I took a shortcut, I microwaved the butter and then added the milk to it, I use skim milk powder to make my milk, and used a wee bit more powder than what is required for 1/4 cup of milk. I sifted all my ingredients in a bowl, mixed them gently, and then added butter/milk mixture to the dry ingredients and stirred with a wooden spoon until all was homogenous. I then poured it in a baking paper lined bread tin, so I had a nice thick fudge (as opposed to more pieces and thinner) which I cut in about 1/2 in. squares. This recipe's a keeper!! (wonder what it would taste like with different spices instead of cinnamon!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by France

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Yum-yum-yum. I was expecting something cinnabar-coloured and spicy, but then I realised it was only mildly spiced regular fudge. It smelled a little like cocoanut, but maybe that is just my impression?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kind*machine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Savoy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
If you use real butter, good vanilla, and sift the dry ingredients (measure the sugar before sifting), there is no problem with either the flavor or consistency. This couldn't be any easier, since it isn't cooked....if you don't like the consistency *add more powdered sugar*!! It does make a very small quantity so double the recipe for an 8" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Sinfully delicious! The cinnamon adds a wonderful flavor, and the chopped walnuts made it perfect. I doubled the recipe and used the 8x8 dish to make it thicker; then cut it in 1” squares. In doubling the recipe I used the whole 2# bag of confectioners’ sugar and did not measure. A note about the troubles others may have had: When it says butter don’t use margarine or spread; milk means “vitamin D” milk, not 2% or skim; and *always* sift confectioners’ sugar unless a recipe explicitly states “unsifted”, then resift with the cocoa and cinnamon. Both the confectioners’ sugar and cocoa tend to lump.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
This fudge came out flat and tasting decidedly odd. It wasn't bad, but it also wasn't what I expected from fudge. Even so, I'd give it another star if the recipe didn't flatten out into such a thin sheet of confection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
A little too weird of a flavor for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
absolutely horrible, i will not make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJENN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Sorry this is a bit long... I had a fight with myself over the rating for this one. It didn't set for me, even after putting it in the freezer. After sitting for a few days in the fridge it got as far as not being runny but still never set -- no way I could cut it. However, without thinking, I used lower fat margarine and thought perhaps that was the problem, but I see that a few others had this same problem. Perhaps it needs real butter and some people don't use it? I also thought it a bit too sweet, even for fudge. But, the flavor was fabulous -- I'm not a big fudge fan and have never made it but was curious what cinnamon fudge would be like. Since it didn't set right, I just occasionally grab a spoonful. :-) IF I decide to try it again I will use real butter and see what happens. As for a few comments I saw about the sugar not disolving -- I had no problems with this. I *always* sift confectioners' sugar -- maybe the recipe should explicitly state to do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I thought this tasted like and had the consistency of overly sweet chocolate icing that has sat in the fridge. We just did not like this one. It didn't seem anything like the kind of fudge we like or are used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I wasn't at all happy with the results of this recipe. I had planned to take it to a party and it was a soft blob after overnight refrigeration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States