Easy Chocolate Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kevannon
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
A friend brought this to my house for a party. Not being a huge chocolate fan this thing is amazing since I made this 2 days later. I didn't have chocolate bars because she didn't mention it being a layer....so I crushed Oreos which seems to always work. One suggestion is to push down on cake so you have room for the remaining layers. So much air is in the cake. I think this recipe used more pudding than my friend's recipe. We will soon see how big a hit this version is. I'm only posting it now because I'm pretty confident we will start New Years day a couple of ponds heavier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
My aunt always brings this to family get togethers and I'm so glad to have the recipe!!! I think (I'm not sure) that she uses brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnaDion

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I'm not sure Kahlua would have improved this. I made it for Christmas Day dessert. My kids (boys 16 & 19) actually fought over it! Forget the rare prime rib I fixed, this was their choice. How sad, I only got one serving before it disappeared. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Fastastic - I drizzled mine with coffee flavored liqueor, but I cant say we noticed a huge difference with that. Going to try it again this weekend using all the low fat goodies (skim milk, coolwhip lite, SF FF choc. pudding) for hubbies college graduation party. YUM-O **UPDATE - was still fantastic with all the healthier option ingredients, I will make this one from here on out**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
in a pinch i used chocolate angel food cake- everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Awesome chocolaty taste....and simple to make! This was a huge hit at my daughter's birthday party. I used real whipping cream, not whipped topping and spread it smooth on top. Used a decorator's bag with frosting and wrote her name on it. Then sprinkled the rest of the chocolate toffee pieces around the edge. Lovely! We'll be repeating this again sometime soon I'm sure...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Fitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Delicious! I made this as a treat for a family get together and all day was told how incredible this dish was. I told them how easy it was and got a ton of, "you're kidding!!" responses. I will definitely be making this dish in the future, but next time instead of the heath bars I think I will try to substitute peanut butter cups instead. Also- I think drizzling caramel over it would be amazing too. =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Sharp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was easy to make and didn't take that much time, but it wasn't as yummy as I thought it would be. Nothing bad about it but I don't think I will make it again unless I need to take it to a carry in, because it makes a TON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I make the pudding with only 3 cups of milk and then stir in 1/3 cup of Kahlua for a more "adult" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Gray Granter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
For a decadent adult version of this, drizzle Kahlua on the chocolate cake layer! I have been doing this for years and it's definately a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States